Indian Chickpeas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2015
Organic product are best for living healthy & safe life. Buy certified organic products at reasonable price from www.organikart.in To link your organic products with our store send email to info@organikart.in with subject "Supplier Inquiry"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Haidar Modi

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2015
This was easy and tasty and nutritious. I used tomato paste instead of a tomato and added cumin, tumeric and fenugreek. Quick and yummy dinner with some rice and naan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHEL V.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2013
LOVE this! I used this recipe as a base and then altered it with additions from Cholay and Chickpea Curry on this site, mostly for more spices. This is so good, I could eat it every week. The leftovers became even more delicious too! Yay for leftovers!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Accokeek, Maryland, USA
Living In: Ithaca, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2013
I made this as written for the first time, and I found I had to add more spices once I sat down to eat it. Other than that, it was quick, easy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
I didn't have channa masala or tomatoes, so I added other spices (cumin, cayenne, and TONS of cilantro) and I wasn't happy with the flavor after the 20 minutes of simmering so I let it go for another 20 minutes. Also I mashed them I little to thicken it. Served it topped with cilantro and homemade naan. I know I changed it, but I was going for the flavor that I like from the local Indian restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2012
pretty great. I added some cornstarch to thicken it. Serve on brown rice and then spoon some yogurt over top ( i dilute low-fat plain yogurt and add dried mint).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This was very yummy! Everyone loved it. I followed some of the suggestions of other reviewers, mainly " I mashed some of the chickpeas to thicken the curry and I added 1 tsp. turmeric, 1 tsp. of cumin,1 tsp. of coriander and a little bit of cayenne pepper (around a 1/4 tsp). I used red onions and then seeded and diced the tomatoes". I must say that it was close but not as good as restaurant quality or authentic Indian chickpeas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I have made this twice now, and love this recipe. I add 1 tsp of ground cumin, 1 tsp ground coriander and 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. We love garlic in my house so I also add 2 additional cloves of garlic. This is good over basmati rice, or even with saltine crackers! One additional thing- after cooking, I like to let this sit in the fridge overnight to let the flavor really set in. But it tastes great when eaten right away too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
I made my chickpeas from dry chickpeas, and I used 1 Tbs. of oil, but otherwise I made the recipe as written - it was absolutely delicious! It had great flavor! I put this in my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2012
five stars for the ease and delicious taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Vegetable Bhaji

A spicy Indian dry curry with potatoes, cauliflower, carrots, and peas.

Indian Green Beans (Guferati)

See how to make a simple, spicy Indian side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States