Indian Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2004
Fantastic! This tastes just like it would at a good Indian restaurant. I didn't have yogurt so I added more coconut milk and some water to make up for it, and it still tasted so good. One great addition: a can of drained garbanzo beans makes it really hearty, almost like a stew. I can't wait to have leftovers tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2005
I just cooked this and im only 20 and this was the first time I tried cooking something that didnt involve a microwave, a jar or a packet and I must say it was one of the best currys I've ever ate. Just a shame I had a fight with my dad since he tried taking over and was putting in too much ginger, so he went to bed and refused to eat any. My mam loved it as much as me though :) One thing I would say is I used the 4-6 serving recipe size ie one cup of yogurt and it barely filled half the plate and other half was chips. That was 2 generous servings. I guess if you are putting it on a bed of rice then maybe it would fill 4. Thanks anyway im gonna cook this for my friends next! I just cooked this again. This is a few months on since last time but this time I worked out what a cup is in metric. So I used the proper measurements which worked out as 16 tablespoons for 1 cup. Now this made 3 large servings but I think I preffered it with less yogurt and coconut milk making it thicker and more concentrated. I think last time I probably used around 12 tablespoons of yogurt and 9 of coconut milk. It was still a very nice curry with this extra stuff but I definetly preffered it before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
69 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I really enjoyed this recipe...very nice flavor, virtually no aftertaste. I like that this recipe contained no mushy ingredients, such as apples, as many curry chicken recipes do. I prepared this with jasmine & saffron rice...the meal stood alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Ramon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2003
I've made this recipe several times. I really like the fullness of the curry that comes from the coconut milk. Also, I add a little extra curry powder and cayenne pepper. Next time, I'm going to add a little fenugreek seed to see if we can smooth it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2003
We have made this several times and keep coming back for more! It's simple, and the chicken is very moist. I am now hooked on curry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2004
Excellent. I have no experience whatsoever cooking Indian food (though I eat it pretty often), and this recipe was incredibly easy and 100% "idiot-proof". The only modification I made to the original recipe was that I used a little less lemon juice (though I did use some) and no onion. I served it with Basmati rice, and my sister and her friends ate everything, no left overs at all! I will most definately be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2005
I thought this was a great recipie, similar to curry I've had in restaurants. I only used what I had on hand, though, so I ommited the ginger root, the coconut milk, and the lemon juice and it was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2005
This is my all time favorite go-to recipe when introducing someone to indian food. You can increase/decrease the heat by the kind of curry powder you use. Remember, 3 TABLESPOONS is alot if you are using hot curry. It's alot of ingredients, but the point of indian cooking is to balance so many different flavors into something that just... works. It's about balance and flavor. And this recipe has it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Gartland

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Youngstown, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2005
This is our favorite curry recipe to date. We prefer to add potatoes and use 3/4 can of tomato sauce (instead of tblspn paste)and a bit more coconut milk to keep it moist. We serve it w/homemade naan and basmati rice and love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Aloha!! I tried this recipe and happy to say its wonderfully delicious!! i left out the tomato paste and added fresh tomatoes instead, left out the cayenne pepper, and its delicious without the heat/spice!! I DEFINITELY would make this again, OH, I buy my India Curry powder now from this India market down McCully side of Honolulu, Wonderful place to go to purchase India Curry Ingredients, i normally cook all from scratch!! aloha marthy from Hawaii
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty Lake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kaneohe, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 764) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Spicy Indian Chicken and Mango Curry

Make a sensational Indian curry that’s both creamy and spicy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States