Indian Chicken Curry II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
This was a great dish to cook, however i found it was nowheres near as hot as real indian food. The amount of cayenne pepper is not enough and ginger can be increase; to answer about the removal of the bayleaf... if you leave the leaf in and end up eating it , it becomes like a razor and can be harmful while eating... this is why you NEVER bust up a bayleaf to cook with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
To me it doesn't matter if this is authentic or not, it's delicious. My dad's side of the family is from India, and some like Indian food, some don't, but I have made this exact recipe for a lot of my family and have never had a complaint! It's delicious. I have been making this for several years, the only change I make is adding a bit more curry powder and a little bit of garam masala. One tip I have, get cup of yogurt out and let it sit at room temp, then take the pot off the stove and let your onion & spice mixture cool down, then gradually heat it back up while adding your yogurt. This keeps the yogurt from curdling, not a guarantee though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
I made this twice - phenomenal. It takes a while to used to the smell of curry. I a still a little squeamish when it comes to that. But, when smell it, I know I am making correctly. Naan is necessary to really enjoy this dish. This is on my top killer recipe list. Chicken Makhani is the other.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vet eran (HwyFuzz)

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
I'm still figuring this recipe out. I tried dry-sauteing the dried powders, but that got a little crazy. Good flavor overall though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2012
Myhusband just loved this receipe! I would not change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane Kidd

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This smells wonderful and taste just as good. The first time I made it, though, used greek yogurt, cuz that's what I had. BIG MISTAKE...it mutes all the other spices and makes a wonderful dish just ho-hum. Make it as written, maybe add more curry, and use regular plain yogurt, and you've got a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cloud9

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mandeville, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
OMG. I love this recipe. I did heat the spices before add the oil like some users suggest and it was sooo delicious. I was looking for a curry recipe that had flavor but not all the swetness. This was absolutle perfect. By the way, i hold the cayenne pepper because we don't like too much heat and it came out great. I will do it again and again. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
This is absolutely wonderful. When I make this it fills the entire house with the most amazing smell. My entire family loves this curry and it isn't difficult to make. My grandchildren especially love it and I always have to make a double batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
wow....this was my first attempt at curry...i too made some changes...i cut up my chicken a potatoe red bell pepper onions garlic and carrots...after they were nice and tender i added all the spices, then i simmered it all in some veggie broth for about 20 mins then added all of wet ingredients....this turned out sooo yummy i cant wait to make it again. i only rated 4 stars cause i think there is still room for improvement....but it was YUM!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Very tasty, bright, lively sauce! I highly recommend. A good recipe and while not authentic Indian its a very good masala-type sauce that works with Chicken or Turkey or Veal. Did you know that Tikka Masala was invented by the British? Of course an Indian person would not like this (because its not really Indian). It's more American-style and Indian-inspired and very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 774) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States