Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
I thought this recipe was just OK. It wasn't a bad dinner and my family liked it, but if I had ordered this dish in an Indian restaurant and got this, I would have been disappointed. I will keep looking for a better recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
This recipe has been the only Indian dish that I have successfully prepared. Over the years, I have always used what I had on hand and changed some things. I use light coconut milk, whatever chicken I have on hand- I prefer thighs, but breast works well too. I use all dry spices, and instead of tomato sauce, I use tomato paste and the whole can of coconut milk (approx 14 oz). I also add a dash of sugar to taste. To make this more healthy I also add a small bag of frozen peas after everything is done simmering. The flavors meld so well; this is pretty close to the flavor complexity of some of my favorite Indian dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by libertinemoi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
I changed a few things--cut up a whole chicken; skinned it; after browning chicken, i cooked onions, garlic, and ginger as directed but also added the cinnamon, cloves, and cardamon and toasted that as well. Then, i added the tomato sauce (only 8 oz.) and the coconut milk and stirred. Lastly, i reintroduced the chicken. It's better if u mix the sauce before adding the chicken again. I also added some cayenne peppers (chopped) to the onion mix. The flavor still required tweaking, so i added a tablespoon of ketchup. That seemed to help a lot. I simmered the chicken an hour with a lid on til it fell off the bone and then reduced the sauce til it was a bit thicker. Serve with rice and pappadum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
Indian dishes are quiet complex, but, this one covered it all..... The family loved it & I intend to add this to our meal plans for "exotic" dishes :).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2009
So easy and flavorful. Not TOO spicy. Perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
SOOOO good! Some minor changes we made was using 1/2 the can of tomato sauce and using only 4 boneless skinless chicken breasts....the more sauce the better! It was great, especially because we had the spicy curry. I served mine over couscous and sprinkled it all with green peas. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I gave this recipe four stars instead of five because I had to modify it a little. Because of all the complaints about the overpowering flavor of the tomato sauce, I used a can of diced tomatoes instead. Next time I will add them closer to the end because they kind of disintegrated. The only other change I made was to use ground spices instead of whole. Because the whole breasts were a little unwieldy, I took them out and shredded them. Next time I will use boneless, skinless breasts as I think this would cut down on the cook time. It smelled so good when it was cooking and the flavor was great. I served it over rice. The leftovers were just as delicious. As other reviewers noted, it is not a strong curry flavor, so really pour in the curry if you like it. This is a great base recipe and next time I think I may throw in some other veggies with the onions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
I thought the recipe was very good and easy to make. After reading the other comments I added a lot more curry to make it spicier. My picky husband liked it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ty

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lovedinak
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
Good! First time making curry. I only had the powder spices for cardamom, cloves, and cinnamon, so I added a teaspoon of each. I added 3 tablespoons of curry, and a can of tomato paste. I served over rice. Husband did not like it very much because he has no appreciation for an abundance of flavor, so poo on him!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lovedinak

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Great recipe. Very tasty and just right with the spices. If you like this you may also like S&B GOLDEN CURRY SAUCE MIX. It is a packaged sauce mix that you just add the meat and potatoes to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 132) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States