Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This turned out to be a nice Indian Curry dish...although I had to tweak it a bit. I disagree that the tomato sauce was a distraction. that would come from someone limited in the different variety of curry dishes-even within only the Indian types. After feeling this dish needed something more, I added about a 1/2 cup of yogurt, increased the curry by another 1/2 Tablespoon, added 1 Tablespoon brown sugar, doubled the spices and let it simmer about 45 minutes. The second time, not having plain yogurt, I actually tried adding vanilla yogurt, and we actually loved the flavor it added, so I will likely do that next time. Although healthiest with chicken breast, more flavorful with entire chicken or thighs. Nice base recipe to begin with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have made this many times - one of my family's favorites. I always use boneless breasts and skip the cardamonm but otherwise, it is amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
My husband loved this and asked when I'd be making it again. Awesome recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellymc125

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2011
This was a good recipe however I changed a few things to suit my family's tastes. I used legs simply because we prefer dark meat. 1 onion instead of 2, added 2 peeled, chopped carrots, 2 medium potatoes cut in large pieces (I pre-boiled these about 7 minutes before adding to be sure they were cooked through) added 1/2 cup green chili. I only used curry powder because I did not have all of the whole herbs, so I doubled the amount of that. Served with basmati rice and peas. My mother-in-law is very picky and she went back for seconds and thirds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Perfect curry! Add 1/2 Tsp. turmeric Add 1 green bell pepper Serve with a side of Jasmine rice (cooked with some saffron if you have it) The best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This curry lacks the punch of using individual spices roasted and ground at the time of preparation (the use of curry powder and not individual spices). It is far from being a bad curry but preground spices or mixed ground spices such as curry powder are beyond their prime and mostly dried out. All curry powder suffers so which is why thiss dish does not leap out at you and the aroma is restrained rather than alive. Curry powder is not an ingredient normally seen in most Indian kitchens. It is in none of the kitchens of my Indian or Pakistani friends. This essentially makes it Indian curry for people who are not Indian. Olive oil is not used in India neither. Try unsalted butter or ghee. However, I will say it is a good recipe for novices exploring South Asian style cooking, but as your knowledge grows, learn the individual spices and move on from curry powder. I substituted an equal mix of cumin seed (pan fired and pulverized), corriander (pulverized but not fired), a pinch of turmeric, some cayenne (to taste) for the curry powder and this recipe took on real life. Leave everything else the same. Bone in chicken is essential for the flavour, deboned breasts dry out. Thighs are good too with this and more flavourful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Delicious! I needed to make modifications based on what I had on hand. I used 10 oz of tomato sauce, 13.5 oz coconut milk, and omitted the cardamom and used leftover turkey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
EVEN BETTER THE SECOND DAY! Made it as is - loved this recipe and will use as a base moving forward.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
My husband is an Indian food lover and he enjoyed this recipe. I do advise, however, to decrease the tomato sauce.... what I did was dissolve 2-3 tablespoons of sauce in a cup of water or chicken broth....that made it a lot more reasonable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
This was my first time making any type of Curry and it turned out wonderful! I'm vegetarian so I used potatoes and peas instead of chicken. I will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FunkyB137

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Villa Hills, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 145) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States