Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2005
This was really good I increased the garlic and ginger and cut the chicken into bitesize pieces. After making this recipe the first time I learned a very valuable lesson. Get all of the spices at an Indian market. For example cardamom cost $12 at the grocery store and you only get a very small amount it cost a $2 at the Indian market and you get a whole bunch. I also added a couple of serranos peppers as I wanted it hotter!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
I made this for friends and family one night with wilted greens. They thought they had gone to heaven! I used regular curry powder because the kids wouldn't have been able to handle the madras, but it was great non the less.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLCPRNMN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albert Lea, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
We love this dish. I cut breast and thigh meat in chunks before browning because that's how our favorite Indian restaurant serves it. My husband didn't like all the onion, but I did. I used ground cardamom and ground cinnamon which worked just fine and maybe even imparted a little more flavor than the whole spices would have.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2005
Very tasty but not like in a restraunt. Definitely worth a try though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
I hoped for something deliciously exotic tasting and was not disappointed. I made just a few changes: 6 Tablespoons curry paste in stead of the powder, tinned chopped tomatoes replaced the tomato sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was the first time I have attempted making a curry, and it was a HUGE success! I had to use dry spices, and I didn't have the cardamom. But, it was still great! I used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat, which was a great substitute. I also added two sliced carrots and a handful of raisins for color and texture. I'm sure the leftovers will be great for lunch today. :) Thanks Kristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! One of the best dishes I've made. I used powdered spices instead of whole spices. I cut the chicken thighs into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Delicious! I am a new cook with a sparse spice rack (and budget), and had to leave out the cardamom and clove, but the dish was still quite flavorful. Tastes great with green pepper, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Okay. I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the curry (since I was using regular curry powder) and halved the tomato sauce (since others complained the tomato sauce dominated the dish too much). Sadly, this didn't help enough; the tomato sauce was still the strongest flavor in the dish and the next more distinctive was the cinnamon (then came the curry). This didn't have a flavor I liked, and certainly not a distinctively curry one. I much prefer Indian Tomato Chicken recipe (for a spicy tomato-based Indian recipe) and Indian Chicken Curry II recipe (for a true creamy non-tomato-based curry recipe) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States