Indian Chicken Curry I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
This was the first time I have attempted making a curry, and it was a HUGE success! I had to use dry spices, and I didn't have the cardamom. But, it was still great! I used light coconut milk to cut down on the fat, which was a great substitute. I also added two sliced carrots and a handful of raisins for color and texture. I'm sure the leftovers will be great for lunch today. :) Thanks Kristi!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: New Britain, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
I LOVE this recipe! One of the best dishes I've made. I used powdered spices instead of whole spices. I cut the chicken thighs into bite sized pieces.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2005
Great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2005
Delicious! I am a new cook with a sparse spice rack (and budget), and had to leave out the cardamom and clove, but the dish was still quite flavorful. Tastes great with green pepper, too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: May 27, 2005
Okay. I followed other reviewers' advice and doubled the curry (since I was using regular curry powder) and halved the tomato sauce (since others complained the tomato sauce dominated the dish too much). Sadly, this didn't help enough; the tomato sauce was still the strongest flavor in the dish and the next more distinctive was the cinnamon (then came the curry). This didn't have a flavor I liked, and certainly not a distinctively curry one. I much prefer Indian Tomato Chicken recipe (for a spicy tomato-based Indian recipe) and Indian Chicken Curry II recipe (for a true creamy non-tomato-based curry recipe) on this website.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
I used cut up chicken tenders and used some non-fat yogurt instead of the coconut milk, and it came out great! I also cut up two small red potatoes and those added some variety to the chicken and onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2005
This is a perfect recipe for those who like indian food. I made it with chicken breasts instead, cut in small pieces. I didn;t have cardamon or cloves, and used cinamon powder instead, but it was still mouth wathering! I will repeat thi recipe at least once a month!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Amazing! I can still taste the delicious mix of spices in my mouth. This was very good and extremely tasty. The cardamon, cinnamon, cloves, and ginger melded together. I used a little less tomato sauce and added fresh tomato. I didnt realize how easy it was to make curry and will definitely do so again! This recipe tastes exactly like many curries you will get in restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2005
Fabulous! This is great. I used mild curry powder, probably could've went with the hot, but loved it just the same. I also used boneless chicken breast and cut in chunks. Added some green beans for veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Pretty good. Used regular curry powder instead of the hot stuff. Will keep searching.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Indian Chicken Curry I

This rich chicken curry is easy enough for a weeknight dinner.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States