Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 31, 2005
Good recipe. I enjoyed the mild, nutty flavor of the wheat flour. Since it is just my husband and I, it was easy to cut the recipe in half. I also added a couple pinches of sugar for just a hint of sweetness. I really enjoyed the fact it took me no more time to make the Chapati than it does to make biscuits! Another recipe for my binder of favorites. Thanks for submitting it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2005
Great, quick recipe. I needed a bit more water, and had to fry each flatbread for about 60-70 sceonds per side. I added 2 tsp tumeric and 1 tbsp coriander seeds, and the breads came out a nice bright yellow. They went really well with a simple curried potato & cauliflower dish. I'm going to use this recipe tonight to make some sandwich wraps for steak, mushrooms, and rice. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2005
Yes, this recipe was very simple. It was also quite bland. I guess that I was looking for something more like naan. I think that a little sugar would have done wonders. I don't think I will try this recipe again. thank you though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARRAHS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
No more Indian restaurants for me!! Why go out if I can eat Chapati Bread this good. I tried it with the Chickpea Curry recipe submitted by Aminah A. Rahman. Fabulous!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by John D'Eye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aldershot, Hampshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Orléans, Centre, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2006
Wonderful. I have been disappointed that none of the grocery stores in my area carry Chapati, but when I found this recipe I couldn't wait to try it. It did not disappoint. I will most likely make this often, and keep some on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2006
Super fast and easy. Start making the dough before your main meal, so it has time to relax for rolling. You'll be much happier rolling if you wait 30 minutes after forming balls. Tastes best when it gets dark brown spots and puffs up a bit. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIUKAT

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2006
great. for the hot water, I used broth from dahl I made. Served both together, yum. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CITEREH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Hickory, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
I made this bread tonight with a soup that I found on AllRecipes. It was really pretty good!! Very simple to make. I'd like to try it again sometime, and experiment with some spices for a little different flavoring. Very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sayuri
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I did these tonight and they're excellent! They are great with some chicken curry! It's such an easy and good recipe my family's addicted to this bread by now. I find it's absolutely necessary to let the dough rest for about 30-45min. because by then it will be soft, easy to handle and it will cook perfectly and form little bubbles as soon as you put it on the heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lima, Lima, Peru

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States