Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
simple, easy, great with Indian Butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Easy to make. Fast too. We serve this with indian curry dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
If you dont have a rolling pin, don't be afraid of this recipe! I just pulled the dough like you do when you make homemade pizza and deep fried it. I made this with chicken vihndalo and bombay aloo the other night.. and with home made turkey sausage gravy this morning.. they are awesome and so versatile! I wrapped the dough around homemade fudge and deep fried today.. and also tried it with a strawberry sauce and vanilla bean icecream.. seriously.. these are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SerenaBloom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
An excellent all round flat bread. Use with wheat flour or just plain alone. I find that whilst the chapati needs to be slightly thicker, this same recipe is good for tortilla type wraps too which you can roll paper thin for the better wrap. This is my favourite version of bread as it is very cheap, quick and easy to make, from cupboard to plate in around 10 minutes. For a taste change, try adding a flavoured olive oil such as garlic or basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Awesome and easy! I ate this bread when I had friends from Uganda visiting! I served them to my family with fajita filling. I added a pinch of sugar and a couple shakes of garlic powder! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gil's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
AMAZING!!! I didn't really think Chapati would be so easy given how much they charge for it in restos... this was super fast and really rounded out tonight's meal. Mixed it with dahl and a parsley salad; sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
For so few ingredients, this was definitely a surprise! The trick is to definitely roll out the balls as thin as you possibly can once you've let them rest for awhile or else the end product may be rubbery and too dough-y. I made mine on a cast-iron skillet with non-stick spray. I also added garlic powder, turmeric, cumin, basil, and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
First time I have ever made and eaten Chapati bread, always used naan bread's before. Very quick and easy to make. Followed the recipe as written, cooked on the electric skillet. My family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent. It's like a tortilla, but with a more wholesome flavor and texture. The hotter the pan/griddle the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States