Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It was Foreign Food Night at our house and we were eating Kenyan food. Every Kenyan food list I saw listed chapati as a common food. It was my first time eating it and we all liked it. Super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
Wow! This was great! I added a pinch of sugar as others suggested, and I let the dough balls sit for 30 minutes. I wasn't sure what kind of oil to use. I used canola, which seemed to work, although the entire house ended up being very smoky -- we had to open doors and windows. I don't know whether that was the oil, something I did wrong, or just the nature of the recipe. Also, I doubled the recipe since we had company, but the smoke kept me from cooking all of the dough. I covered the remaining dough balls and stored in fridge overnight; they were fine the next day after sitting out to bring to room temperature, then rolling and frying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2007
Easy Indian Bread, great for last minute accompanying indian dishes. My friends and family loved it. EASY & FAST
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salisbury, Maryland, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
I spent two years in Kenya, and my friend Julie made these for us. She was from Uganda. She rolled her dough balls into long ropes,rubbed them with oil and coiled them into rounds then rolled them out. They were crispy and light. If you let them rest they will raise when put in the skillet. Thanks for the memories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
278 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Poznan, Greater Poland, Poland

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
Perfect chappati. So easy to make, and it was so much fun!! I added cumin seeds to the dough and it just totally brought everything together and complemented the indian food i served with it very well. I will always make this every time I make indian food now. It's too easy and way too good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2007
I made this as directed and my whole family really enjoyed it. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Madison, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2007
It was good but not great. Next time will add some flavoring. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BLUEALUE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2007
The chapati still tasted a bit raw to me, even after rolling it as thinly as possible. Even so, it's pretty good bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by halfenese

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
I halved the recipe and made four chapati. I really did like the taste of it (I added some tumeric and a pinch of sugar as suggested by others.) Just make sure you roll them out thin and be patient when heating up the pan (it needs to be hot and smoking!) Medium High heat is better, imo, to get it hot so it will crisp up better. I served this with Chicken Tandoori and Indian Basmati Rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2007
I rubbed pesto on one side and served it with hummus, I have to say everyone enjoyed it! I"ll definitely make it again, it's easy, fast and versitile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States