Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I just made this on a whim, following instructions exactly, and they turned out geat! Such a simple, great recipe. I'm happy to be able to satisfy my bread craving with such a fast recipe, and since I make lots of Indian dishes, I will be making this often. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This is the best Chapati recipe I have tried, yum. Many thanks to the submitter
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rosichops

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2008
Very easy and good. Tastes like the chapati bread I had in India!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mommymeggy
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Very easy and very delicious. Not dry or bland. Will make regularly... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommymeggy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I had never eaten this bread before making it, so I'm not sure what it is "supposed" to taste like, but I didn't care for this!! I made it with an Indian Butter Chicken recipe from this site, as recommended by other reviewers, and I thought it did not go well with the dish at all. It was like a very hearty, wheaty burnt tortilla. Maybe I did something wrong - which is entirely possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MimiAlea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by sweetiesmj
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
Super easy to make. I followed the recipe exactly and the outcome was great. I doubled the recipe ending up with 18 balls which made approximately 18 8-inch semi-round breads. I served them with Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken). Both recipes are delicious! I will be making this bread again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetiesmj

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Naugatuck, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2008
I really enjoyed the flavor of this bread. I added a pinch of sugar and ginger to my dough and let sit while I cooked my chicken apple curry (from this site. Went great together but this is particularly yummy to munch on solo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica B

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waycross, Georgia, USA
Living In: Severn, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
This is great. Easy and good. I love that it is half whole wheat and white flour. I added seasoned salt and kneaded it in bc of the comments that it is bland. However, having done that, I'm a bit confused. Chapati bread probably is supposed to be bland--a lot of Indian foods have strong spices and are often spicy. the bread is often a good complement to cool it down. Either way, I love it. Took a bit longer than 30 sec on each side for me, but I also didn't heat the pan up so that it was smoking. I let it rest as others suggested, and the bread puffed up kind of like pita bread does--although just in certain spots. When several places puffed up, I flipped it over. Perfect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
these were simple and easy and great ! just like a mexican torttila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were very easy and quick to make. I made the dough and formed the balls to rest while I cooked my Cholay. When everything else was done I rolled them out and grilled them on a very hot cast iron pan. They were so tender! I then melted a little butter with garlic and a pinch of Indian red chile powder and brushed the finished chapati. This meal was almost as good as my local chat restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States