Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Made this recipe for the first time and it's as good as the ones i have at the restaurant. Will try with ghee next time for a little variety.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
i halved the recipe, and added a teaspoon of sugar. almost done with kneading, i sprinkled some cumin onto dough and knead together. then i heat the skillet, while resting the dough. i rolled it into 6,nice medium-sized chapaties. i greased the skillet with very little butter, and made sure it's smoking hot before i fry the chapatis...very delicious, i serve hot with dalca(vegetable curry dish) and it smells very good(love the cumin!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momoe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2009
We made this to go with the gobi aloo recipe on this site. The recipe worked very well - I followed the recommendations to roll each piece into a rope, oiling it, and coiling it into a ball before rolling it flat with the rolling pin. I also let the dough sit for about 20 min. before cooking. I found that medium high heat (as recommended by another reviewer) was too high, and the vegetable oil burned onto the pan and was difficult to clean off. Medium heat or slightly below seemed to be hot enough, and the chapatis puffed up a little. I'll make this recipe again, but I may let the dough rest longer before cooking. Overall, very tasty and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
I no longer need to go to the indian resturants to order chapati bread...this is it! I didn't have flour, so I ran down to my nearest indian food store and purchased a bag of "atta" which is a blend of wheat and whole flour. I added a pinch of dried onions to the mix and used a cast iron frying pan lightly sprayed with pam. It was delicious. I appreciate a fellow reviewer, Mr. John D'Eye and served my chapati bread with the curried chickpeas. A definate keeper in my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Although traditional chapati are wheat-based, my mother's allergic to wheat, so I used all-purpose flour. These are incredibly easy to make and taste quite good. I added a pinch of coriander to the dough for a little bit of flavor. Roll these out very thin, or else they'll be a little on the chewy side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olney, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
Wonderful and simple flat bread. Used as wraps for mexican, but would love to just munch! Used alot of oil for cooking- will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Great, easy and very versatile! I've made this over a dozen times and each time add different spices to go with my meal (thyme, cayenne, rosemary)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Autumn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
Great recipe! I too added some curry and coriander, loved the flavor! I cut the recipe in half since I was just making them for myself. It went great with a chicken and eggplant curry that I made. I only let the balls rest for 15 minutes and they were fine, easy to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erin Hess

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2008
Those were good but tasted no different from Mexican tortillas. I was disappointed but at least it was edible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tibbadee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
Yum. Puffs up nicely and is so easy to make. This reminds me of Chinese scallion pancakes. We had this with butter chicken and eggplant curry. I made a half-batch because I also made rice. My son and husband wanted more! Should have made a full batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States