Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I really liked this recipe, however it came out really salty for me. Might have been my fault but what i did is i brushed them with melted butter and then sprinkled cinnamon sugar over them, and they were soo delicious! Strange take on it and try what i did if youre feeling adventurous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUN RAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I used only plain flour, yet these are very good proportions, chapatis puffed up nicely, I'll use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stopsz
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I lived in Kenya for awhile and Chapati's were a main staple. I thought this recipe was great and very authentic with a few changes: -I just used all white flour because I didn't have wheat flour - I didn't let mine stand for very long - just let it relax for a few minutes while I stirred my curry, but definitely not 30 minutes like some reviews recommend - The big difference was rolling it out - traditional chapatis are chewy and oily. So divide your dough, and then each smaller ball of dough you want to roll out into a long tube. I put olive oil on my hands while rolling it into the tube to coat it on all sides. Then you coil that tube into a circle and roll that out with your rolling pin. You will have a very pliable dough when you're done and they will be softer and more chewy when cooked. And the hot pan is very important! It should be hotter than you think - my kitchen is usually a little smoky when I'm done cooking these. Good luck!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
So easy to make and an excellent side to a nice bowl of soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Very good! Tender and crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Great recipe! Very straight forward and easy to make - I would recommend for even a cooking beginner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krishan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
A very good flat bread that we found went well with chicken satay. We will probably make it again. Very good, just not the best thing we have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
I make this all the time now. Sometimes I throw a little garlic and butter over the top too. tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
simple, easy, great with Indian Butter chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lian W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Easy to make. Fast too. We serve this with indian curry dishes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States