Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
Easy and authentic! Recipe made 8 large for me, took a couple tries to get it just right and now I make them all the time. Fresh "bread" in 30 minutes...awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am a Canadian living and working in Taiwan and miss the breads of North America very much. I live in an apartment with no oven, so I am always trying to find breads and baking that I can do in a fry pan. I am amazingly inventive! I wanted a no-yeast flatbread that I could cook without an oven, wasn't sweet and would do for sandwiches and everything else. I found this Indian Chapati Bread and followed the recipe exactly but made a 1/2 recipe. I also let it rest for 30 min. as suggested by others, I was able to roll them very thin but they puffed up nicely, and were delicious. Thanks so much for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2012
Unfortunately my chapatis were very crisp and dry even though I made sure the pan was very hot, etc. I'll possibly give them another shot and try rolling then a little thicker to see how I go. I also found then a little salty, so will look to reduce that next time also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
I have never made chapatis before and I'm soo surprised they turned out so good! Made half the recipe which resulted in four medium/large chapatis. We served them as a wrap with an Indian curry. This is a no hassle recipe. No yeast, no raising time, no oven. Tasty and crunchy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
This was really good. I halved the recipe but made it into 8 chapatis. I used Durum Atta Flour to make it more authentic. You can usually find this flour in the international section at the supermarket. Make sure you knead really well till the dough is soft. Also to make it more authentic, after making the chapati I lightly sprayed them with canola oil (you can use melted butter or ghee) and rubbed them together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ♥PaliLuv♥

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2012
Simple and perfect
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2012
Like previous reviewers commented, make sure your pan is super hot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
Love that these are whole wheat! My boys will eat anything as long as I serve these too! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
These turned out very nice. I used a very hot iron skillet with no oil. Thank you for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crown Point, Indiana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2012
bad !!! almost as good as Indian flan bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 118) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States