Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
these were simple and easy and great ! just like a mexican torttila
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
These were very easy and quick to make. I made the dough and formed the balls to rest while I cooked my Cholay. When everything else was done I rolled them out and grilled them on a very hot cast iron pan. They were so tender! I then melted a little butter with garlic and a pinch of Indian red chile powder and brushed the finished chapati. This meal was almost as good as my local chat restaurant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keilypie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
This bread is fantastic (as long as you don't put too much oil in the pan!) It is so quick and is fantastic to serve along with a curry! i did add some cardomom seeds and a dash of cumin to the mixture for extra flavour, which was lovely!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
Makes a great flat bread for gyros.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth Jackson Reeser

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winter Park, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2008
In other recipes I have used for chapati, it says to let the dough sit (covered with a tea towel) for about an hour I think before cooking. I'm not sure how much of a difference that makes, but my chapatis did not turn out as well as usual this time and I wonder if that is why.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hayley H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2008
This recipe was good, but it's easy to wind up with chapati that are hard and dry. To get chapati that are soft and flexible it is crucial that the skillet is very hot, as per the instructions, so that they are done in under 30 seconds per side. Don't be too stingy with the water or cut back on the oil. If your chapati are still too dry, try rolling them out thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
566 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This was OK, I was disappointed because it did not taste like the bread I had at the Indian Restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: Lees Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
this was great! i made thing tonight with 5 kids to have with the chicken with coconut milk. the kids all raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
i love this...i wont buy ready made chapati any more...my indian bf will be happy...i am learning how to make his food...thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinky osi

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cabuyao, Laguna, Philippines

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2007
It was Foreign Food Night at our house and we were eating Kenyan food. Every Kenyan food list I saw listed chapati as a common food. It was my first time eating it and we all liked it. Super simple!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States