Indian Chapati Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
An excellent all round flat bread. Use with wheat flour or just plain alone. I find that whilst the chapati needs to be slightly thicker, this same recipe is good for tortilla type wraps too which you can roll paper thin for the better wrap. This is my favourite version of bread as it is very cheap, quick and easy to make, from cupboard to plate in around 10 minutes. For a taste change, try adding a flavoured olive oil such as garlic or basil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Leeds, Yorkshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Awesome and easy! I ate this bread when I had friends from Uganda visiting! I served them to my family with fajita filling. I added a pinch of sugar and a couple shakes of garlic powder! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gil's wife

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
AMAZING!!! I didn't really think Chapati would be so easy given how much they charge for it in restos... this was super fast and really rounded out tonight's meal. Mixed it with dahl and a parsley salad; sooooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
For so few ingredients, this was definitely a surprise! The trick is to definitely roll out the balls as thin as you possibly can once you've let them rest for awhile or else the end product may be rubbery and too dough-y. I made mine on a cast-iron skillet with non-stick spray. I also added garlic powder, turmeric, cumin, basil, and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
Very easy and delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melissa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
First time I have ever made and eaten Chapati bread, always used naan bread's before. Very quick and easy to make. Followed the recipe as written, cooked on the electric skillet. My family enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2010
Excellent. It's like a tortilla, but with a more wholesome flavor and texture. The hotter the pan/griddle the better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2010
excellent thankyou
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Penorcas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
very tasty. i'm west indian and we make a similar "roti" so i know that its crucial to allow the dough to rest before cooking in order for it so get puffy (the longer the better but like others have said 30 minutes minium). in addition, i put the cooked chapati on a small bowl (smaller than the chapati) and microwave it on hi for about 20 to 30 seconds. puffs up each time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
My Dad is Bangladeshi, and is also a good cook. One of the best things he made was chapati bread. I thought this recipe was FANTASTIC, and just like how he makes it!! THANKS!! I wanted to point out that its a good idea to leave it on the pan for a little longer than it recommends. Let it get a little dark-brown in some spots. It gives it that taste like it was actually made in a tandoori oven. That's my only suggestion!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TanyaR90

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Chapati Bread

Watch how to make this Indian flatbread recipe.

Indian Naan II

See how to make authentic Indian flatbread.

Indian Chicken Curry II

This homemade Indian chicken curry dish is so delicious, you won’t miss takeout.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States