Indian Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I really enjoyed this. A great way to cook a cauliflower. I did microwave the cauliflower for 5 minutes, and cut it up as suggested by others, and it cooked in about a half hour. I used fresh garlic as well, four cloves. Thank-you for this recipe, it is a keeper. If you don't have garam marsala, look on the net for an easy recipe combining spices like paprika, cumin, cinnamon, cayenne, crumbled bay leaf, clove, etc. This is what I did, and it came out great. You don't have to heat or grind seeds of anything to make your own home-made substitution for garam masala, but it is a must for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
We ate this and enjoyed it--the flavors combined well and were delicious! But next time I'd break the cauliflower into florets so that some of the cumin oil can get on more surfaces, and so that the sauce can cover more of it. Come to think of it, I'd double the sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
No need to bake the cauliflower - just trim and put in large pot with a steamer basket. Poke with a fork to see when it's done. I broke up the florets and added them to the tomato sauce in the pan and tossed. I also made my own tomato puree by putting one can of diced tomatoes and their juice in the blender along with a little leftover tomato paste. Very easy. I will keep this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2012
Our ten-month old loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Not super great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We just moved to Bombay from Texas. So, I'm trying to learn how to make indian dishes for my indian husband & this one was a winner. He really liked it said it tasted like it was from a restaurant! However, he preferred to have the sauce all mixed up w/the cauliflower & I used garam masala & red chili for spice & flavor. I also left out the lettuce...this dish is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
This was an excellent dish! My husband and I have adopted a vegan diet and are always looking for creative new dishes and this one was very enjoyable. I made it just as the recipe said and served it alondside a quinoa/brown rice blend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
Very easy to do. A good and simple way of eating cauliflower. Instead of 2 tomatoes purees, you can either used a can of tomato sauce or diced tomato, just add the amount that would make two tomatoes purees.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
Fabulous, healthy dish with a few modifications. Per other reviewers, I chopped the cauliflower into small florets and tossed with turmeric oil before baking. Even in small pieces, the cauliflower is better cooked for 40-45 min until lightly browned. I used only 2 tsp of garam masala and added 1 tsp of chili powder for heat. I also added a pinch of sugar to mellow the acid from the tomato puree, and also added about 3 Tbsp of half and half to give the sauce a little richness. Superb! Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maxine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States