Indian Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Awesome! The garam masala is a MUST! I cut the oil in half, and it was just fine. I had to microwave the baked cauliflower for 2 minutes - it wasn't quite tender. One tip: don't let the tomato curry sit and cool before serving because it thickens up too much. The next time I made this, I used only 1 Tbl. oil and diced canned tomatoes. After the sauce was finished cooking, I pureed it in my food processor. For the cauliflower, I steamed it in my vegetable steamer until tender, then did a 'rough chop' to get smaller florets (which is how I see this dish served in Indian restaurants). I then mixed the cauliflower into the pureed sauce. I will make those changes again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
I had to leave my cauliflower in the oven for a lot longer than 30 mins for it to cook. I also used tomato sauce instead of pureed tomatoes and real garlic instead of garlic powder. The result was still a great tasting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
Spectacular! I followed the instructions (adding only cooking the cauliflower covered with 1/4" water). This was delicious. By boyfriend loved it and said I should serve this next time we have company. Thanks for making such a great recipe available!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2005
I followed the advice of other reviews and chopped my cauliflower into florets before cooking. This dish turned out wonderfully and is even good reheated. I'll definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We loved this! We will make it again and again! I liked it just as is, and I also liked it when I added some plain yogurt to the sauce for a creamy indian sauce. Creamy is big with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Wonderful! Excellent vegetarian option I served mine over rice and my fiance inhaled it. Highly recommended. The only thing I changed is instead of pureed tomatoes I used 1 can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azrefugee

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
Excellent recipe! Like other reviewers I chopped up the cauliflower head into florets before baking. Also instead of brushing on the hot oil I 'fried' the florets by putting them directly into the turmeric oil and tossing for a few minutes. I also put 1 tablespoon of water into the pan while baking the cauliflower. Used minced garlic instead of garlic powder and added 1/8 teaspoon crushed red pepper for a little heat. Also, as others have said, the garam masala is a MUST. I served it with saffron rice and my husband and I both absolutely *loved* it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2010
Good when I cut cauliflower into florets, sauteed in oil and turmeric, baked in covered dish at 400 degrees for the 30 minutes. Used tomato puree, prepared sauce as recipe stated, then mixed everything together. It was outstanding!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
This cauliflower was absolutely fantastic! I read reviews & microwaved it first,then baked covered. Do try this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
This has become a staple in our household and every single one of our friends loves it too. A great twist on vegetarian fare without resorting to pasta, risotto or potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WITCHONE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States