Indian Cauliflower Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2003
Awesome! The garam masala is a MUST! I cut the oil in half, and it was just fine. I had to microwave the baked cauliflower for 2 minutes - it wasn't quite tender. One tip: don't let the tomato curry sit and cool before serving because it thickens up too much. The next time I made this, I used only 1 Tbl. oil and diced canned tomatoes. After the sauce was finished cooking, I pureed it in my food processor. For the cauliflower, I steamed it in my vegetable steamer until tender, then did a 'rough chop' to get smaller florets (which is how I see this dish served in Indian restaurants). I then mixed the cauliflower into the pureed sauce. I will make those changes again! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
I like Indian food, this is a good one. I changed it a little though. I think as suggested before by some other reviews it's a must to seperate the cauliflower into florets if you want to cook it in 30 minutes. Also I raised the temperature to 450 F, and it cooked perfectly. I used fresh garlic also added fresh ginger to the sauce, cut the garam masala in half and added some chili powder since I like my food hot. I didn't have any at home but next time I cook this dish I will sprinkle it with chopped cilantro before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2002
This is a fun dish to prepare and serve. In an earlier review, I forgot to mention that I have learned that I needed to bake the cauliflower in a *covered* dish, and increase the cooking time to at least 45 minutes. I like to serve it with a red lentil dahl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Presque Isle, Maine, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2000
I think the cauliflower would cook a bit better if 1/4" of water was added to baking pan. Makes a beautiful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
We loved this! We will make it again and again! I liked it just as is, and I also liked it when I added some plain yogurt to the sauce for a creamy indian sauce. Creamy is big with me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2005
I followed other's advice and cut the cauliflower into florets then tossed it in the tumeric oil. After baking for 20 min it wasn't done and was starting to look a little dry so I added a little water and let it cook for another 20 min. I didn't have garlic powder or fresh tomatoes so I minced 2 garlic cloves and 1 can of tomato puree. I think it came out very well and plan to make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2003
I had to leave my cauliflower in the oven for a lot longer than 30 mins for it to cook. I also used tomato sauce instead of pureed tomatoes and real garlic instead of garlic powder. The result was still a great tasting dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corvallis, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2005
I will take full responsibility for the failure of this recipe........ We ended up throwing the whole thing out. Is is possible for turmeric to go bad? I followed the recipe completely. It was really awful tasting and my husband will USUALLY eat anything! Sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Excellent flavor and presentation. This was a big hit with my wife who always thought Cauliflower was "blah". The next time I make this I'll give the head a few minutes in the microwave first. I was concerned that the canned tomato sauce might not work. Wrong! It was fine. I served this with a home made Vindaloo sausage with Pistachios and Basmati rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by R Vennerbeck

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Foster, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Los Gatos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
We just moved to Bombay from Texas. So, I'm trying to learn how to make indian dishes for my indian husband & this one was a winner. He really liked it said it tasted like it was from a restaurant! However, he preferred to have the sauce all mixed up w/the cauliflower & I used garam masala & red chili for spice & flavor. I also left out the lettuce...this dish is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fancypants

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Chickpeas

See how to make garbanzo beans simmered with Indian spices.

Indian Eggplant Bhurtha

This delicious Indian vegetarian stew is easy to make and full of flavor.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States