Indian Carrots, Peas and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
We love Indian food, particularly the vegetarian dishes. Unfortunately, this recipe fell short. We found it completely bland. However, we managed to save the dish by adding 1/4 cup of salsa, a pat of butter, extra salt & black pepper to it. We didn't have any in our pantry, but I assume canned tomatoes would've worked just as well as the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This recipe was excellent and very authentic. I did add a little more salt to taste. Will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2005
This was disappointing. It had hardly any flavor. I had to add a lot of garam masala and some Goya Sazon seasoning to make it have flavor, and even then it was bland. Also, i accidentally burnt it a bit, but it didnt taste very bad from that. Had a very good taste with cucumber raita. I will make this again, because it seems like it has a lot of potential to be a good recipe.It kinda tasted like home fries.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2Yung2Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2005
i made this to complement the honey/mustard curry chicken. it was pretty good. i wanted it to be more creamy, so while it was cooking, i added some milk, water, flour and butter. i put majorim, coriander, chile powder, a little curry powder, cumin, garlic powder - since one review warned it would be bland. the flour and water helped thicken it, and i added some cheese (cheddar, italian cheeses) in the final phase. it took so long for the potatoes to cook, that i eventually dumped all the stuff from the skillet into a pot, covered it and cooked it for another ten minutes. thats the only way i could get the potatoes to soften up! the vvegetables ended up being really good, but i had to do a lot of things to alter the recipe to make it that way. i would make it again - my way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2006
quick, simple and satisfying. i served this with yogurt mint sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
We cooked this for 45 minutes and the potatoes never cooked all the way through. Like others have said, the spices were okay, but it needed a little more something. Maybe boil the diced potatoes in chicken stock first to cook them and add extra flavor at the same time? It would also add moistness, which would be a good thing since this was a little too dry for my taste. We'll keep working on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a great accompinament to my favorite Indian Chicken Curry and basmati rice dinner. The spices were just right and did not overpower my main dish at all. This dish would also stand alone as a great Indian Vegetarian Entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This mild dish was great for my family, because I love Indian food, but my kids don't. I did add a little bit of butter mid-way through cooking to help with the tendency to stick to the pan. This was mild enough for them to eat, and I just doctored mine with Sriracha chili sauce to spice it up more to my liking. I'll probably do this again and tinker with variations of the blend of spices, because I really would like it to be a little more flavorful, but it was a very fine start, and a simple recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
This a recipe that is very delicious! Easy and fast to make. Simple ingredients. I make this all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Connie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Navarre, Ohio, USA
Living In: Massillon, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I really enjoyed this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States