Indian Carrots, Peas and Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2007
The recipe is quick and good. I suggest boiling the diced potatoes in a pot while you saute the onions. That way all the vegetables are cooked and just need to be seasoned with the onions. Plus you can use some of the reserved water from the potatoes in the mixture instead of the plain water to keep from sticking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2005
We love Indian food, particularly the vegetarian dishes. Unfortunately, this recipe fell short. We found it completely bland. However, we managed to save the dish by adding 1/4 cup of salsa, a pat of butter, extra salt & black pepper to it. We didn't have any in our pantry, but I assume canned tomatoes would've worked just as well as the salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taiping, Perak, Malaysia
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
If you're a curry fan, you're probably going to find this bland. I upped the spices called for but also browned some cumin seeds in the hot oil before adding the onion. I also added some Madras curry powder for heat/flavor. I made this with leftover peas and baked potato from last night's dinner, and used steamed cauliflower instead of carrots (I LOVE curried cauli). I rolled it up in a paratha with a drizzle of garlic chutney. Nice lunch. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
This was a great accompinament to my favorite Indian Chicken Curry and basmati rice dinner. The spices were just right and did not overpower my main dish at all. This dish would also stand alone as a great Indian Vegetarian Entree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
We cooked this for 45 minutes and the potatoes never cooked all the way through. Like others have said, the spices were okay, but it needed a little more something. Maybe boil the diced potatoes in chicken stock first to cook them and add extra flavor at the same time? It would also add moistness, which would be a good thing since this was a little too dry for my taste. We'll keep working on this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
This mild dish was great for my family, because I love Indian food, but my kids don't. I did add a little bit of butter mid-way through cooking to help with the tendency to stick to the pan. This was mild enough for them to eat, and I just doctored mine with Sriracha chili sauce to spice it up more to my liking. I'll probably do this again and tinker with variations of the blend of spices, because I really would like it to be a little more flavorful, but it was a very fine start, and a simple recipe to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Good, but next time I make it I will add more chili powder and some diced chiles to give it a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Reeve Cfmg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
Loved this one. Be sure to dice the potatoes small enough that they cook through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
I thought this was a little bland, but my husband loved it! He added hot sauce to it as well, so that may have influenced his taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
Nice flavor but a bit bland. It needed more salt. All I could taste was frozen peas though even though my veggies were a good mix of potatoes, carrots, and peas. This went well with spiced rice and an indian style meatball in an onion raisin sauce. I'd fix it again adding a little more spice or something to it as it was okay but needed a little doctoring to make it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pan-Roasted Marble Potatoes

See how to make colorful pan-roasted baby new potatoes with bacon.

How to Make Instant Potato Pancakes

See a time-saving tip for making potato pancakes from instant mashed potatoes.

Indian Tomato Chicken

See how to make chicken thighs simmered with tomatoes and exotic spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States