Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Absolutely delicious! We didn't use the meat tenderizer and won't in the future. We cut the salt down to 1 tsp. We also used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of black pepper. Put it in a gallon sized ziplock bag with 5 lb. of organic drumsticks and squeezed the air out, marinated for 6 hours, then grilled it over a charcoal fire. A really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Almost identical to a recipe given me by an Indian friend. I omit the meat tenderizer and use chicken thighs or goat meat(which is traditional). Re marinating: 2 tips. Cut a slash into the chicken pieces, then use your hands to smush the marinade into all crevices. Second tip: Put the chicken and marinade into a ziplock bag for at least overnight in the fridge. I have also frozen the chicken at this point, then thawed out at later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent! I used boneless skinless breasts for this. The chicken was tender and flavorful. I do have one complaint...too much salt. I would cut the salt by at least half, if not more. It didn't make the chicken too salty, it just made the salt flavor overwhelm the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Maybe i should have brushed off some of the marinade but it tasted too much like cumin. I was expecting to taste some of the other spices in the marinade, but alls I could taste was cumin. The chicken was moist, but not what I was expecting. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this for my family, and it was a hit. We eat alot of chicken, and get tired of the same old things. Be sure to marinade as long as you can. I used bone in breasts, tonight i'll trya it again with skinless boneless breasts...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
We were delighted to find a tandoori-like recipe so we could enjoy it at home. It is wonderful. Just make it up the night before to allow enough marinade time for the flavor to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Great recipe - Great dish! Five stars for certain! I cut up chicken thighs, and marinated overnight in the refrigerator until dinner time the next day. I threaded the chicken onto skewers with some onion chucks, and grilled them. We LOVED the glorious Indian flavors that came through! Thanks much for the recipe, Karen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
It was a bit salty. I removed the chicken from the bones and served it in pita bread with lettuce,tomato and caesar dressing. My husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I reduced the salt down to 3/4 tablespoon and used bone-in thighs. It had a delicious flavor, probably the closest to tandoori possible in a home kitchen! It was cold and rainy outside, so I just baked it at 350 deg. for 1 hr. Chicken was juicy. My husband loved it!! (I just noticed that the narrative doesn't mention adding the black pepper or garlic and I, therefore, left them out. Flavor was great nevertheless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Awesome- we cooked it on our charcoal grill after it had marinated about 24 hrs....very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States