Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2000
We were delighted to find a tandoori-like recipe so we could enjoy it at home. It is wonderful. Just make it up the night before to allow enough marinade time for the flavor to develop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2001
Good but not a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
It was a bit salty. I removed the chicken from the bones and served it in pita bread with lettuce,tomato and caesar dressing. My husband thought it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this for my family, and it was a hit. We eat alot of chicken, and get tired of the same old things. Be sure to marinade as long as you can. I used bone in breasts, tonight i'll trya it again with skinless boneless breasts...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent! I used boneless skinless breasts for this. The chicken was tender and flavorful. I do have one complaint...too much salt. I would cut the salt by at least half, if not more. It didn't make the chicken too salty, it just made the salt flavor overwhelm the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I reduced the salt down to 3/4 tablespoon and used bone-in thighs. It had a delicious flavor, probably the closest to tandoori possible in a home kitchen! It was cold and rainy outside, so I just baked it at 350 deg. for 1 hr. Chicken was juicy. My husband loved it!! (I just noticed that the narrative doesn't mention adding the black pepper or garlic and I, therefore, left them out. Flavor was great nevertheless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Great recipe - Great dish! Five stars for certain! I cut up chicken thighs, and marinated overnight in the refrigerator until dinner time the next day. I threaded the chicken onto skewers with some onion chucks, and grilled them. We LOVED the glorious Indian flavors that came through! Thanks much for the recipe, Karen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Absolutely delicious! We didn't use the meat tenderizer and won't in the future. We cut the salt down to 1 tsp. We also used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of black pepper. Put it in a gallon sized ziplock bag with 5 lb. of organic drumsticks and squeezed the air out, marinated for 6 hours, then grilled it over a charcoal fire. A really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
frienda and familey was won over. Great with Grilled vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Excellent! Big hit with everyone, even the pickiest guests and children loved it. Mellow flavors, not overpowering. Very moist and tender. I put marinade together day before, and added chicken evening before cooking. Doubled the amount of chicken but had plenty of marinade. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States