Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 18, 2013
EASY and DELICIOUS!!!!!!! I didn't use the meat tenderizer (don't have any), cilantro (out of that, too) and the yogurt (to cut down on calories). I broiled the chicken in the oven and it was still fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was testing new cookware, so I used a completely different cooking method, but I wanted a nice spice combination for a chicken to go with a curry potato side. This was PERFECT. I omitted the yoghurt on account of allergies, rubbed the chicken with lemon juice and followed with the spices. Absolutely succulent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
We live in a highly Indian populated area with access to some pretty good take out, so this was unimpressive to us... with that said I haven't found a better recipe yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hatboro, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Centreville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This recipe, I agree had too much salt. I made it verbatum using drumsticks and thighs. Next time I would omit the tenderizer, decrease salt by half. I would reserve some of the marinade as a dipping sauce, warmed up of course. We grilled the chicken and it had nice carmelization and charred flavor from the crunchies,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was EASY and my friend from India loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2009
Delicious...I had to baked the chicken instead of grilling it becaue it wouldn't stop raining in Atlanta and I just couldn't wait. Didn't use the meat tenderizer. Don't like the stuff and just whisked ingriedents in a bowl. I used Greek yogurt, that's all I had, I also used a Tandoori barbeque masala from the local Indian market. Worked fine. Had most of the spices called for in this recipe in the pack and what wasn't in there I just added. Personally, I would have liked a little more spice, maybe a little chile powder. The skin on the chicken was to die for...Excellent. I served it with Basmati Rice. Can't wait to give it a try on the grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
Yummy! I made sure to marinate this a full 24 hours to maximize the flavors. Didn't add the cilantro, family doesn't like that all. I even rubbed the paste made before all the yogurt underneath the skin. Unfortunately, coals were not warm enough and it didn't get as crispy as I wanted. But it was good and I imagine when it is cooked over higher heat like it should, it'll be great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I was sure excited to make this - a recipe right up my alley. The end result was pretty disappointing, though. I think I'd remove the skin from the chicken the next time - the flavour didn't make it past the cooking process. It sure SMELLED good, though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
Edible but bland. Too much trouble for not enough flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Almost identical to a recipe given me by an Indian friend. I omit the meat tenderizer and use chicken thighs or goat meat(which is traditional). Re marinating: 2 tips. Cut a slash into the chicken pieces, then use your hands to smush the marinade into all crevices. Second tip: Put the chicken and marinade into a ziplock bag for at least overnight in the fridge. I have also frozen the chicken at this point, then thawed out at later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States