Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
I made this for my family, and it was a hit. We eat alot of chicken, and get tired of the same old things. Be sure to marinade as long as you can. I used bone in breasts, tonight i'll trya it again with skinless boneless breasts...delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ponte Vedra Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
Excellent! I used boneless skinless breasts for this. The chicken was tender and flavorful. I do have one complaint...too much salt. I would cut the salt by at least half, if not more. It didn't make the chicken too salty, it just made the salt flavor overwhelm the other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blythewood, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Apex, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2003
I reduced the salt down to 3/4 tablespoon and used bone-in thighs. It had a delicious flavor, probably the closest to tandoori possible in a home kitchen! It was cold and rainy outside, so I just baked it at 350 deg. for 1 hr. Chicken was juicy. My husband loved it!! (I just noticed that the narrative doesn't mention adding the black pepper or garlic and I, therefore, left them out. Flavor was great nevertheless!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2003
Great recipe - Great dish! Five stars for certain! I cut up chicken thighs, and marinated overnight in the refrigerator until dinner time the next day. I threaded the chicken onto skewers with some onion chucks, and grilled them. We LOVED the glorious Indian flavors that came through! Thanks much for the recipe, Karen...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Angeles, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Absolutely delicious! We didn't use the meat tenderizer and won't in the future. We cut the salt down to 1 tsp. We also used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of black pepper. Put it in a gallon sized ziplock bag with 5 lb. of organic drumsticks and squeezed the air out, marinated for 6 hours, then grilled it over a charcoal fire. A really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
frienda and familey was won over. Great with Grilled vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Everyone loved it! Marinated overnight and all day the next day. The only change I would make is not put all the stuff in a blender. A lot of the spices stuck to the inside of the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe tasted fabulous. The flavors were fantastic. I did not have any meat tenderizer, but it didn't seem to need it. My only complaint was that the chicken was an unappetizing bright yellow color with blackened grilled stripes. I sprinked it with some paprika and chopped cilantro to try to pretty it up, to not much success. The taste made up for it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This was EASY and my friend from India loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2012
I was testing new cookware, so I used a completely different cooking method, but I wanted a nice spice combination for a chicken to go with a curry potato side. This was PERFECT. I omitted the yoghurt on account of allergies, rubbed the chicken with lemon juice and followed with the spices. Absolutely succulent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States