Indian Barbeque Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
Almost identical to a recipe given me by an Indian friend. I omit the meat tenderizer and use chicken thighs or goat meat(which is traditional). Re marinating: 2 tips. Cut a slash into the chicken pieces, then use your hands to smush the marinade into all crevices. Second tip: Put the chicken and marinade into a ziplock bag for at least overnight in the fridge. I have also frozen the chicken at this point, then thawed out at later time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cook to the max

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
I thought this recipe tasted fabulous. The flavors were fantastic. I did not have any meat tenderizer, but it didn't seem to need it. My only complaint was that the chicken was an unappetizing bright yellow color with blackened grilled stripes. I sprinked it with some paprika and chopped cilantro to try to pretty it up, to not much success. The taste made up for it though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by liscooks

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Bloomfield, Michigan, USA
Living In: Beverly Hills, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
Everyone loved it! Marinated overnight and all day the next day. The only change I would make is not put all the stuff in a blender. A lot of the spices stuck to the inside of the blender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2007
I really liked this recipe. Best on the BBQ grill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2007
Maybe i should have brushed off some of the marinade but it tasted too much like cumin. I was expecting to taste some of the other spices in the marinade, but alls I could taste was cumin. The chicken was moist, but not what I was expecting. I will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenwee99

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2006
The chicken turned out very tender and had an ok flavor, but the cumin was a little overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2005
Awesome- we cooked it on our charcoal grill after it had marinated about 24 hrs....very tasty and juicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BN61079

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mendon, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Milford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2005
Excellent! Big hit with everyone, even the pickiest guests and children loved it. Mellow flavors, not overpowering. Very moist and tender. I put marinade together day before, and added chicken evening before cooking. Doubled the amount of chicken but had plenty of marinade. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2005
frienda and familey was won over. Great with Grilled vegies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2003
Absolutely delicious! We didn't use the meat tenderizer and won't in the future. We cut the salt down to 1 tsp. We also used 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper instead of black pepper. Put it in a gallon sized ziplock bag with 5 lb. of organic drumsticks and squeezed the air out, marinated for 6 hours, then grilled it over a charcoal fire. A really nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Butter Chicken (Murgh Makhani)

See how to make a homemade version of Indian butter chicken.

Chicken Makhani (Indian Butter Chicken)

See how to make a simple, flavorful Indian recipe in just minutes.

Indian Chicken Curry (Murgh Kari)

Chicken breasts simmer in a spicy tomato and yogurt sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States