Independence Day Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
Thanks for this recipe! I added a few things into it, like 1/2 tsp of Vanilla extract and 1/2 tsp of Almond extract, just to give it a little more zing to the flavor. Oh, I also added some macadamia nuts into the batch, and it came out Marvelous! Two thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I just made these cookies last night for my familly's oath of citizenship celebratrion and to take to work to share my joy there as well! It was difficult to find dried blueberries, I don't shop at the right stores apparently, so I used blueberry juice infused cranberries (store-bought). The color pattern was not red-white- blue like I anticipated. For my cookies the color scheme looked like a typical golden brown of a sugar cookie wiht the dark read of the cranberries coming through... the white chocolate was kinda small to see. I did add the 1/2 tsp of vanilla as suggested before. Overall the coookies tasted great!! The juice from berries kept the cookies very moist and aromatic. The dough was easy to handle and I even mixed it my hand. The cookies once cooled just slide off the cookie sheets. The cookies are very filling and tasty. The cookie consistency was kind of flakey which made for an interesting texture contrast compared to the fruit not like a typical hard shortbread cookie. I don't have much experience baking, as this was only my 4th batch and 4th recipe to try, but I would make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2011
Only made 1/2 a batch and then used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening. The colors are great for any patriotic holiday. I made these for Memorial Day and they were a huge hit at the party. The did flatten out a little bit as they baked, but that may have been because of the butter that I used.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2011
OMG!!!! These are soooo good !!! I was only able to make half , but they are soooo worth it !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This cookie recipe was the best! I modified the recipe slightly after reading the reviews. I used 1 cup of butter and 1 cup of crisco and added 1 tsp of vanilla and they came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
I made this for a 4th of July get-together and it was a HUGE hit! The batch makes a ton of cookies and not a single cookie had to be thrown away. I highly recommend these! It was so memorable that a guest at our house for Halloween mentioned she was a little disappointed we hadn't made them again. ^_^ Now we know what to put on future menus!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2012
Pretty good, but nothing real special
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
The husband and I LOVED these. Used 1/2 butter and 1/2 shortening (since I didn't have butter-flavored shortening, I added 1/4 t. of butter flavoring), and I added 1 t. vanilla. The cookies came out moist and delicious--more people need to find this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
These are delicious! They melt in your mouth when they are right out of the oven. I substituted macadamia notes for the white chocolate chips because I'm shipping these overseas. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2012
Delicious cookies that disappeared quickly. My dough seemed too dry to form the cookies so I added a tablespoon or two of milk and they came out beautifully. As someone else stated, the juice in the fruits keeps them nice and moist. Will definitely be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chewy Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies

See how to make one of our most popular cookies.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States