Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
A really good recipe. A little too sweet though. Used it for a school project and I'm sure it got a great grade! Very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Errett

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2007
I've made this cake twice now. The first time I followed the original recipe first and the cake was yummy. It was a bit dense however, so the second time I followed HJONES999 suggestions (except did not add the salt) and, OMGosh... It was sooo much better. The cake was light and dreamy! I would without a doubt make this cake again... over and over, but with the suggested changes. This cake rocks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
171 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DitzyDame

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2007
this is pretty good...however i dont like coconut or walnuts but used chocolate chip shavings instead came out pretty good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by AQUIETA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2007
There are no words for how moist and delicious this cake was. I made a few changes, I didnt add coconut to the batter(just on top of each layer). I added pecan to the batter and walnuts on top. I also used butter flavored shortening, butter & coconut flavorings. THE BEST SCRATCH YELLOW CAKE I HAVE MADE SO FAR (AND THATS SAYING ALOT FOR ME).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AQUIETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Believe it! It is incredibly delicious. I have been baking professionally for 10+ years, and this received rave reviews at my last gig. It is moist, flavorful, and delicious. I left out both the coconut and the pecans, because my client hates both! And still, it was DELICIOUS. Also, I used 1/2 cream cheese icing, and 1/2 buttercream for the purposes of easier decorating. Anyhoo... GREAT cake!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
Excellent! However I increased the icing recipe by 1/2, as I didn't feel it made enough the first time. I did not have any problems loosening the cakes from the pans as some others have - both times I have greased and floured my pans liberally. I did not have to add the cream to the icing as it was the consistency was perfect without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
The cake tasted great, but I had to make a couple of changes. I added 1 cup of chopped walnuts INSIDE the batter, and the icing needed more poweder sugar. Then I added 1 cup of whole walnuts as decoration to the top of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2007
This cake was so much fun to make. Very very sweet so a little cake goes a long way when serving. Made it for my father's 60th bday and everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gahanna, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2007
AMAZING!!!!! I used 100% seedless raspberry fruit spread for the filling and it so sets off the wonderful flavor of this cake! I didn't use the walnuts or coconut in the frosting and it was amazing too! THANK YOU for posting this wonderful recipe! The previous reviewer is right, this cake is even more incredible the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake65

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2007
I made the recipe exactly as printed for my husbands' birthday, except I left the coconut and walnuts out - he doesn't like either one but he loves cream cheese frosting. It was really good that evening - everyone loved it. But the best was yet to come - the next morning as I was preparing his lunch for work, he requested a piece of cake in his lunch :0 After this wonderful cake sat in the fridge all night it fit it's name - "Incredibly Delicious" !! The cream cheese frosting firmed up perfectly and it sliced beautifully and it was REALLY good cold! Thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States