Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It was ok. The frosting is really good. But the cake needs to be worked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i was raised in an italian family. this doesn't even look like an italian cream cake. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
meh. The instructions don't mention the need to beat the egg whites to stiff peaks before folding them in at the end. It's the only thing I changed the first time through... Passable, but I'll keep looking for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Came out great! I used suggestions made by HJONES999. So happy I did. I also used walnuts in the cake and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Ok, this cake did not turn out that well the first time I made it. It stuck to the pan and I have some very good Wilton cake pan. So, because I bake lots of cakes I expected more from this recipe. It was for a client and I had to bake it over in which it turn out better. I am use to sifting my flour and it does not cause for sifting and I noticed the diffference in the batter. The icing is AWESOME! My client said the cake was AWESOME as well. So, I will give this cake 5 star! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
Did the changes as HJONES999 recommended. Also, will make more icing for next time. very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2011
I followed this recipe w/the changes according to HJONES999. It turned out beautifully! And very tasty! My family loved it! I did not however have to use parchment paper. I greased and floured the pans and they did not stick at all. I do however, have some very good non-stick 9" pans and I believe that helped :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
i made these with the suggestions from HJONES999. i converted them to cupcakes (it made 26) with toasted coconut and walnuts on top. my coworkers and i LOVED them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2011
This is not a great recipe - the eggs need to be separated and the whites fluffed. I made a three layer cake that should have been two. I will find another recipe next time that suits my needs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
Beat the egg whites till fluffy (which is norm for me when preparing cake batter), otherwise followed the recipe exactly. The cake was still a tad dense, but the flavor was delicious. Made 2 layers only. Frosting delicious also, but I only used 2.5 cups of powdered sugar and it was sweet enough. Overall, extremely pleased with the taste and appearance of the cake; the one drawback is that it was just a bit dense. This drawback would NOT stop me from making it again, though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Di

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 268) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Chocolate Sour Cream Bundt Cake

Discover the no-fail way to make moist chocolate Bundt cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States