Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Please excuse the rating/review......I confused this recipe with another....will leave the 5 star rating because I am sure it is just as good as the other because the ingredients are almost identical....except the other is a sponge cake which is put together a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good recipe! Never made a cake like this before and I thought it turned out very well. I didn't have buttermilk so I soured my own and I soaked the layers of cake in a simple syrup/rum mixture before I iced it...also adding a little rum to the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I didn't have any nuts, but other than that, I made this recipe true to it's directions and it turned out great! I love that it's dense and heavy...just how it should be. Wonderful taste and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a fully homemade, old-fashioned type recipe. My husband loved it! The cake was so wonderful, dense and moist all at the same time. I didn't do a very good job of greasing/flousing or papering my pans...so they did stick. Luckily I covered my messy cakes with that wonderful icing AND I covered the entire cake in chopped walnuts to disguise my mistakes! Next time I will only make 2 layers and pay more attention to preparing the pans. Overall, I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious, as a matter of fact it was awesome! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
It was ok. The frosting is really good. But the cake needs to be worked on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
i was raised in an italian family. this doesn't even look like an italian cream cake. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2012
meh. The instructions don't mention the need to beat the egg whites to stiff peaks before folding them in at the end. It's the only thing I changed the first time through... Passable, but I'll keep looking for that perfect recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CartoonJunkie33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tamaqua, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2012
Came out great! I used suggestions made by HJONES999. So happy I did. I also used walnuts in the cake and the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Ok, this cake did not turn out that well the first time I made it. It stuck to the pan and I have some very good Wilton cake pan. So, because I bake lots of cakes I expected more from this recipe. It was for a client and I had to bake it over in which it turn out better. I am use to sifting my flour and it does not cause for sifting and I noticed the diffference in the batter. The icing is AWESOME! My client said the cake was AWESOME as well. So, I will give this cake 5 star! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States