Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2013
Yes it is a good cake , but if you want an even better cake add 1 cup of drained crushed pineapple,and instead of 1 teas of vanilla, use 1/2 teas of vanilla and 1/2 teas of almond. Definately fills up 3 9" pans.I used Pam spray and also floured pans and had no trouble with them sticking to the pan. I let them cool 5 min in pan and then removed them,cooled them on baking racks until ready to icing.Sometimes sitting your cake pan in ice water helps relieve the sticking in the pan problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2013
I can not give this recipe any stars. Terrible, too sweet, horrible taste, dense. I follow the recipe as written, but cut the sugar down to 1 1/2 cup, still too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
This cake is amazing!! I made it EXACTLY as the recipe states and it was soooooooo moist and yummy. Everyone at home absolutely loved it and demolished it in record time. The frosting was also delicious even though I used plain flaked coconut instead of sweetened. I am very tempted to make another batch of frosting JUST for me. Thanks so much for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mazza
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2013
Made cake as stated I thought it came out good a little on the sweet side so I will lower the sugar on the frosting, the only thing I am still confused about is must it remain refrigerated or can I leave it out .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2013
The flavor was great. Getting the cakes out of the pan in one piece was difficult. Even with parchment paper and greasing the sides of the pan the cakes came out in pieces. Will try it again and follow some of the other reviewer's suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have tried this recipe 3 times now, and though it is indeed "incredibly delicious", it never came out right. This cake doesn't rise correctly, nor does it separate from cake pans, or even cupcake wrappers very well at all. I assure you this was no error on my part because I make cakes all the time as a hobby. I greased and floured the cake pans before baking and it still stuck to the bottom. I did not enjoy this recipe and I am angry I wasted so many ingredients in my kitchen on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Cake tasted great . . but, couldn't get it out of the greased & floured pans. Do as HJONES999 recommends - use parchment paper. Also, I tried to keep it (slightly) GF - used 1-1/2 c. Brown Rice Flour & 1/2c white (wheat) flour - had great texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb106

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'll start by saying, I've never eaten Italian Cream Cake, so I have no clue as to whether this is "authentic" as some of the reviewers are debating - however - I do make a lot of baked goods and I know if something is tasty or not. This IS tasty. I also dislike when people change recipes and then complain about them. Having said that I have to admit, I had to change a couple of things because of ingredient snafoos. One of my Five eggs had a bloody yolk when I cracked it open so I only had 4 left to use. I replaced the liquid from the 1 missing egg with a 1/4 cup of coconut milk that I did happen to have on hand. I also ran out of white sugar (I KNOw, it's been one of those days)so I had to use 1 and 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I baked it in two nine inch layers and they were done at just 20 minutes. Even with my ingredient problems the cake was moist and good. I'm giving it 5 stars just for being so adaptable. I'm still a chocolate lover so this will never be a favorite for me but it was moist and flavorful - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everyone loved it at dinner last night. I too also made the adjustments as HJONES999 suggested. For the frosting I doubled the recipe but only used a total of 3.5 cups of confectioners sugar and only 2tbls of light cream. Turned out perfectly sweet for us. This is definitely a keeper and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was an okay cake. I took it to a pot luck and there was nothing to take home so I guess it was a hit with someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 263) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Chocolate Chip Cookie Ice Cream Cake

Ice cream on a cookie crust topped with whipped cream, fudge, and cherries!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States