Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2013
I have tried this recipe 3 times now, and though it is indeed "incredibly delicious", it never came out right. This cake doesn't rise correctly, nor does it separate from cake pans, or even cupcake wrappers very well at all. I assure you this was no error on my part because I make cakes all the time as a hobby. I greased and floured the cake pans before baking and it still stuck to the bottom. I did not enjoy this recipe and I am angry I wasted so many ingredients in my kitchen on it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Cake tasted great . . but, couldn't get it out of the greased & floured pans. Do as HJONES999 recommends - use parchment paper. Also, I tried to keep it (slightly) GF - used 1-1/2 c. Brown Rice Flour & 1/2c white (wheat) flour - had great texture/taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb106

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
I'll start by saying, I've never eaten Italian Cream Cake, so I have no clue as to whether this is "authentic" as some of the reviewers are debating - however - I do make a lot of baked goods and I know if something is tasty or not. This IS tasty. I also dislike when people change recipes and then complain about them. Having said that I have to admit, I had to change a couple of things because of ingredient snafoos. One of my Five eggs had a bloody yolk when I cracked it open so I only had 4 left to use. I replaced the liquid from the 1 missing egg with a 1/4 cup of coconut milk that I did happen to have on hand. I also ran out of white sugar (I KNOw, it's been one of those days)so I had to use 1 and 1/2 cup of white and 1/2 cup of brown sugar. I baked it in two nine inch layers and they were done at just 20 minutes. Even with my ingredient problems the cake was moist and good. I'm giving it 5 stars just for being so adaptable. I'm still a chocolate lover so this will never be a favorite for me but it was moist and flavorful - even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ksbouver

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkton, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2013
Everyone loved it at dinner last night. I too also made the adjustments as HJONES999 suggested. For the frosting I doubled the recipe but only used a total of 3.5 cups of confectioners sugar and only 2tbls of light cream. Turned out perfectly sweet for us. This is definitely a keeper and one that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was an okay cake. I took it to a pot luck and there was nothing to take home so I guess it was a hit with someone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
Please excuse the rating/review......I confused this recipe with another....will leave the 5 star rating because I am sure it is just as good as the other because the ingredients are almost identical....except the other is a sponge cake which is put together a little differently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GWENMBELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Very good recipe! Never made a cake like this before and I thought it turned out very well. I didn't have buttermilk so I soured my own and I soaked the layers of cake in a simple syrup/rum mixture before I iced it...also adding a little rum to the icing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LpnLab

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
I didn't have any nuts, but other than that, I made this recipe true to it's directions and it turned out great! I love that it's dense and heavy...just how it should be. Wonderful taste and the frosting was out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunflowerhill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilburton, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Antlers, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This was my first attempt at a fully homemade, old-fashioned type recipe. My husband loved it! The cake was so wonderful, dense and moist all at the same time. I didn't do a very good job of greasing/flousing or papering my pans...so they did stick. Luckily I covered my messy cakes with that wonderful icing AND I covered the entire cake in chopped walnuts to disguise my mistakes! Next time I will only make 2 layers and pay more attention to preparing the pans. Overall, I still loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lumberton, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2012
This cake was absolutely delicious, as a matter of fact it was awesome! A Keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janet Shum

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corbett, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Incredibly Delicious Italian Cream Cake

This authentic Italian cream cake is rich and coconutty.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Ice Cream Cake

A super-easy dessert made of yummy layers of chocolate cake and ice cream.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States