Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2006
I made this to accompany our Easter ham this year. It was SO very flavorful, and received compliments from all diners. I prepared the casserole through Step 3 the day before, and refrigerated it overnight. Immediately before baking the next day, I added the crumb topping (I also added 10 minutes to the baking time, because it had been in the refrigerator). I took the suggestion of another reviewer for adding even more flavor, and sautéed a bit of (sweet) yellow onion in the butter until translucent, before adding the soup. I used the grating disk and feeding tube of my food processor to grate the cooked and peeled potatoes with speed. To conclude: the end result was a VERY creamy casserole. I do believe that when I make it again, I will make it with 6 LARGE potatoes, so that the consistency will be firmer and more potato-y.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2005
Family really enjoyed this dish. Instead of cornflakes I topped my casserole with more shredded cheese and buttered bread crumbs. Went great with our fried chicken. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This casserole is delicious! Everyone loved it! I used hash browns and it turned out great and was easy to make. Also, next time I make it, I may add ham to make it a main meal. Highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DJLaw

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2006
A wonderful addition to a birthday brunch for my mum. I used a 1.5 lb bag of frozen hash browns, and added a 4 oz can of sliced mushrooms (love my mushrooms!). I spiced up the mix with creole seasoning, and baked for an hour. Delish! A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Awesome!! I only made minor changes - I diced the potatoes instead of grating them, and I stirred the crushed cornflakes into the glass measuring cup I used to melt the butter (no wasted plastic bag). Yummy! Ate the leftovers for breakfast the next morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lstevenson

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, Maryland, USA
Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
GORGEOUS! Bravo! As recommended I subbed most of a large package of frozen hash browns. Topped it with French's french fried onions and a little kosher salt and black pepper. It was creamy, flavourful, quick to make - everything I was looking for. This is TOTALLY going in my notebook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We have this all the time! It's a given to have with an Easter or Christmas ham as they go so well together. Due to time constraints, I don't grate the potatoes but just cut them into quarters after boiling and taking the skins off, and then mash them in the pan a bit with a fork. Works just as good as grating. Also we rarely have a box of cornflakes in our house so we just cook them with a bit of extra cheese on top. They're so yummy right out of the oven with the cheese all melted. Plus they're great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2006
I have been making this for years, and it is always a hit. I do add about 1/2 of a diced onion sometimes, which makes it even better. Glad to see this posted so others can enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakersfield, California, USA
Living In: Brooklet, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
Delicious! I had to sub cream of celery because I didn't have mushroom and it was very tasty. I didn't shred the potatoes, just diced them up. The family loved it, I will make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wyattdogster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
This was delicious and everybody really loved it. I made it as directed and it has a very, light airy, whipped potato type texture because of grating the potatoes. Will definitely make again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States