Incredible Potato Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I could have eaten the entire dish all by myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2010
Good, but needs way more cornflakes on top. Plus, I'm not really sure why we grated the potatoes first when they didn't keep the texture after boiling. Seems like a waste of time. But, overall, the recipe is tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Loved it! I used frozen hash browns which saved lots of work. I also followed another reviewer's suggestion and and added a small can of mushrooms, which was great. I didn't have any cornflakes, so I just added another half cup of cheese as topping. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Wendy Stout

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2010
used the hashbrowns on this one and it turned out amazing. Not sure if i even tasted any of the other food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Kind of dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2009
My family has been making this for over 20 yrs. It is a holiday staple. I just made it at Thanksgiving and it went beautifully with our smoked turkey. The only difference is that we use cream of chicken soup. I personally use low fat sour cream and soup to help cut calories. You really can't tell the difference. I also use a potato ricer to make grating the potatoes easier. I've never used hash browns but have seen many versions of this recipe that use them. The cornflake toping is the best. I usually add more than the recipe calls for. I always double the recipe because the leftovers ( if any) are delish. This recipe is great for serving with any kind of meat, especially when you don't have gravy for the meat. I make it to serve with BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Very good and simple to make from scratch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2009
I've been making a similar recipe for years! I just love it! My recipe uses the hash brown and not the potatoes, so I will have to try it with real potatoes. Also, I use cream of chicken soup instead of the mushroom, but I think you can sub any kind of cream of something soup for this recipe. I also use whatever onions that I have on hand. And for the topping, I use Rice Krispies. I love this recipe. It it always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
My dinner guests loved this recipe, but I didn't like it as much as some I've had before. I think next time I will use cream of chicken soup instead. One guest said she's used cream of broccoli and cream of asparagus before too, which also sounds good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tina Nielsen Yeagley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
We have this all the time! It's a given to have with an Easter or Christmas ham as they go so well together. Due to time constraints, I don't grate the potatoes but just cut them into quarters after boiling and taking the skins off, and then mash them in the pan a bit with a fork. Works just as good as grating. Also we rarely have a box of cornflakes in our house so we just cook them with a bit of extra cheese on top. They're so yummy right out of the oven with the cheese all melted. Plus they're great the next day too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Potato Casserole

See how to make a rich, creamy potato casserole with a crispy top.

Cheesy Potato Casserole

See how to make super-simple cheesy potato casserole.

Irish Potato and Chive Casserole

See how to put a creamy, flavorful twist on regular mashed potatoes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States