Impossible Pumpkin Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2005
Hi! This is Betsy, who submitted this recipe that I've enjoyed my entire life. To my surprise, Mom informed me the other night that the recipe needs only HALF OF A CAN OF EVAPORATED MILK!!! Apparently, you all seem to get good results with a whole can, and I have, too, but try it next time with half a can for a denser texture. If you double the recipe, make sure to use only ONE CAN!!!! Enjoy! Oh, and it IS great for breakfast! I agree!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2006
GLUTEN FREE!!! I made this yesterday substituting the 1/2 c all-purpose flour with 1/4 c rice flour and 1/4 c tapioca flour as well as increasing the baking powder to 1 tsp so that my gf family could have a fall treat. (My kids love pumpkin pie but I hate making and rolling out crusts.) Also, following suggestions made by others, I did use the entire 12 oz can of evaporated milk (rather than half), pumpkin pie spice for all the others and threw it all together in the blender and blended for 1 minute. It could NOT get easier than this and it turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2003
This recipe turned out great! My father was in heaven. It was so rich and delicious, didn't miss the traditional calorie laden crust at all. I am a vegetarian and substituted the eggs with Egg Replacer and it still came out perfectly. I also experimented with a variation on this recipe. Instead of using evaporated milk I used an 8 oz block of light cream cheese. To make the cream cheese easier to blend in I used just enough evaporated milk to make it a bit more fluid, about a 1/4 cup. This substitution made for a denser pie, but the "crust" was more evident and it tasted like a pumpkin cheesecake. It was one of my better experiments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
I used 1/2 can of evaporated milk like the submitter had suggested. I'm not sure why people think this is cakey. Mine turned out with the exact smooth pumpkin pie texture. I agree with another reviewer who said the "crust" is more like a breadcrust. I had no problem baking this in an 8" springform pan and the whole thing keeping its shape when inverted. Actually, the outside looked kind of dry and it did worry me, but the taste was heavenly (and low fat)!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2002
I baked this pie and it turned out more "cake-like" in texture, just as others had mentioned. However, when we ate the leftovers the next day, it had much more of a pie consistency, pretty much like regular pumpkin pie without the crust. If I made this again, I would definitely prepare it a day ahead of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
I did catch Betsy's review so I only used half a can of milk but all the other impossible pumpkin pie recipes call for a full can of milk...I guess it'll work either way. Next time, I will use the full can & see which is best for us. I used 3 tsp of pumpkin pie mix for the other spices. After it cooked, my first thought was, "Dang! They were right... it is much more like cake than a pie." But that was in appearance only. The "crust" (don't expect much...it is really only a thin cakey layer) forms on the top but underneath, it is very much like pumpkin pie filling. Hubby & I both preferred it over a traditional pumpkin pie w/ crust. Served it w/ a dollop of whipped cream. Thanks Betsy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2001
what an easy pie to make.. this was delicious and fun to watch bake.. everyone loved the fact that there was no crust.. after adding the whipped cream who needed the extra crust to make you fuller... I will make this pie again for sure, it had the right taste and texture.. I used 3 teaspoons of pumpkin pie spice and it was perfect..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
I tried this pie because my husband loves pumpkin pie and did not want to make a pastry shell for lack of patience that day...absolutly loved it...I only used half a can of condensed milk and it came out perfect. I took it to work for a potluck and it was a rave! but of course i put a little twist on it...cant share the secret though its to good and must keep to myself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2001
Didn't work for me, even though I followed the recipe to the letter. Turned out rather cake-like in texture, not at all like the custard-y filling of a traditional pumpkin pie. And where was the crust everyone talks about? All I had was what I get on the outside of a loaf of pumpkin bread. Very disappointing. I'd rather go to a little more trouble and make a traditional pumpkin pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kat
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
Great pumpkin pie, love that there's no crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kat

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chiffon Pie

This airy, no-bake pumpkin pie will make you the star of Thanksgiving dinner.

Mrs. Sigg’s Fresh Pumpkin Pie

Treat your Thanksgiving guests to a rave-worthy, 5-star pumpkin pie.

Mom’s Pumpkin Pie

This rich, 5-star pumpkin pie is simply the perfect Thanksgiving dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States