Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2008
This was not a favorite...I was hesitant due to other reviews on this being more custard-like. And I wondered about the bottom "crust", which I found not to be a crust at all. It just wasn't to my liking...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tracyc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Preston, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
This is by far the best apple pie I've eaten. Add to the fact it is much easier to make then using/making pie crust and you have a winner. I used apples from my neighbor's tree. She said they made wonderful pies and she was right. Thank goodness there are plenty of apples left. Will be making this again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2007
This had a very nice taste and texture with almost a custard-like layer between the apples. I melted the butter for the batter but used softened butter to cut in for the topping. It took alot longer than the instructed time to cook at 325°. Makes for a great breakfast treat when re-heated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas - Ft. Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2007
I took some liberties with this: added maybe 1c. cranberries, the apples were already seasoned from another apple pie and I used a stoneware pie plate. It took nearly 2 hours at 350. Finally I shut the oven off with the pie inside and went to do my hair - came back and it was finally done. Hopefully it eats as good as it looks - which is pretty awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2007
Best Apple pie I ever made! I'm not fond of regular crust so this pie is great. It is moist and yummy. I did add a bit more spice to my taste. I had to make 4 pies because everyone wanted one! Totally Yummy, thanks for the recipe! clare~~~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I modified this recipe a little bit by substituting rhubarb for the apples. It is more like a cobbler but very tasty with a crisp crust on the top. Delicious. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanvoast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2007
I made this with a combination of Gala and Granny Smith apples, and also walnuts and pecans. I think I prefer a traditional pie crust, but this was definitely nice for a change. Thanks, Brenda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2007
Hubby says, "This is not a traditional apple pie, but for the ease of how it's made and a traditional apple pie taste, this is a winner." But I say the crust was kind of soggy, and I prefer the flakiness of a traditinal pie crust, even if you're buying one already prepared to save time. Hubby wants me to make this one a keeper, I say let's try something else. But hey, it does use some of that huge Costco box of Bisquick in my pantry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
My mother used to make tis pie when I was a Kid. I have been making it since I got married 57 years ago it is still a favorite in my hosehold. Put a big dollop of whipped cream on the top and yummie yummie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Victorville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Very good. Thank you for the wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States