Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2006
This is yummy! The only reason I didn't give it a higher rating is the recipe is a little vague, as some people pointed out. I let the butter soften, but I found it did not mix in at all with the milk mixture, no matter how long I beat it with my mixer. Next time, I will melt the butter. Also, it didn't cook in the alloted time--I think this is because I'm at a high altitude (5000-plus feet). I went to the Bisquick Web site and they had the same recipe with slightly different/smaller measurements to fit in a 9-in. pie pan. (I used a deep square dish for this recipe, which worked fine and didn't overflow.) The site also said for high altitudes, adjust the heat to 375 degrees. Next time, I will probably just use the recipe on the Bisquick Web site. Just a note for high-altitude bakers--the Bisquick Web site actually connects to the Betty Crocker Web site, and it appears that all their recipes have high-altitude adjustment suggestions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2001
A great recipe. It is easy to make (if you don't mind peeling a lot of apples) and absolutely delicious. I made it last night and my family is still raving about it. I added slightly more cinnamon and nutmeg than the recipe calls for, because we tend to like stronger spice flavors, but otherwise we did as instructed. A real winner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
I had some Jiffy brand baking mix I wanted to use up and a few very sad looking golden delicious apples. I only had enough for 5 cups of apples. I found the 'crust' batter to be very thin but proceeded, as I remember another reviewer commenting the same thing. After about 5 min. in the oven it started to ooze over the side of the 10 inch pie dish. To save my oven I just put a cookie sheet underneath to catch the drips. It took about an hour to bake at 325. The crumb topping is wonderful. I added 1.5 tsp. cinnamon and 1/2 tsp. nutmeg. The spices were perfect, the apples were done perfectly, and the taste is very nice. I am whipping up some cream for the top to serve to co workers. I just had to try a small sliver to make sure it was presentable. Very easy and quick recipe, also nice because it uses ingredients one has on hand. *I also melted the butter for the 'crust' batter, but kept the butter in small cubes for the crumb topping. thanks for this nice recipe. It's different, not your average pie, cobbler, or crisp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2005
Delicious! I used 6 fairly small granny smith apples which I cut up into fairly large chunks. Note that in the recipe there are 2 separate entries for Bisquick--the "crust" uses the 1/2 cup...the crumbly topping uses 1 cup of Bisquick. The recipe, when printed up, combines the recipe for the "crust" and the "crumbly topping". Be careful. I used an 8x8 square pyrex dish which I filled with about 3/4 with the apple chunks. Make sure you mix around the apple in the cinnamon and nutmeg mix to even it all out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2001
This is my all time favorite apple pie recipe. Have been making it for years. YUMMY..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brunswick, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2002
Really tasty! I cut the apples while my 13-yr. old daughter mixed the filling and topping ingredients. We had it in the oven in 15 minutes! One note: in my oven, 325 degrees was too low, but I also started with refrigerated apples. I had it baking for an hour and a half, and still the tester wasn't coming out clean. I'll probably try 350-375 next time. Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great!! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and because I didn't have a 10 inch pie pan, I used two 6 inch pans, (however it overflowed, so I wouldn't recommend that) . ALSO instead of bisquick I just made my own = 1 c flour, 1 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt.. and left out the extra oil/butter thats in bisquick normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2006
Wow, this was absolutely delicious! Easy, too. I accidently added a bit too much milk, so I added a bit more bisquick. The filling overflowed (used a cookie sheet like others suggested) but the pie baked up so nice. I also didn't have nuts for the top so I just made a brown sugar/butter/flour crumble and it turned out wonderfully. Almost like a warm pudding-apple-yumminess that I will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2007
I modified this recipe a little bit by substituting rhubarb for the apples. It is more like a cobbler but very tasty with a crisp crust on the top. Delicious. We enjoyed it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vanvoast

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2004
Thanks so much for submitting this Brenda! I have been baking this for the past 10 years! I was in a state of panic this morning when I went to my recipe box and couldn't find my recipe! I came to allrecipes hoping to find it, and here it is! This is so yummy! Everyone I've ever made it for, loves it! A quick and unique pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 62) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States