Impossible French Apple Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
This pie doesn't really come out like a pie. It is more like an apple bread pudding or something along that line. The ingredients made enough to fill one 9" pie dish and one of my 6" pie dishes. The presentation is so-so but the flavor is good. I will continue to look for a better french apple pie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by walkingfit

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
Umm . .WOW. So simple - so yummy . . and the house smells great! I left the nuts off all together - and because of some of the comments here - baked at 350 for the 55 minutes. . . .Turned out GREAT - and no mess with rolling out a pie crust! Made this with 5 of our fireside apples we got from the orchard last weekend. Will totally do this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Adding a little rum to this recipe really improves the flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2011
Delicious! Very easy recipe, just made this tonight and everyone loved it! I will definitely be making this again. Tastes wonderful and smells amazing also!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2011
excellent! I made two of them using 7 granny smith apples, my family and friends loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Could not be simpler to make and Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Great!! I used pecans instead of walnuts, and because I didn't have a 10 inch pie pan, I used two 6 inch pans, (however it overflowed, so I wouldn't recommend that) . ALSO instead of bisquick I just made my own = 1 c flour, 1 1/4 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp salt.. and left out the extra oil/butter thats in bisquick normally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
You can't beat this recipe in terms of simplicity. Eliminating a few steps from the traditional apple pie gives this pie a great bang for your metaphorical buck. I was making several kinds of pie at once so didn't pay particular attention to the apple to biscuit ratio, but in the future, i think I'd pile some more apple in there. It was a bit bready, but not in a bad way - the biscuit mix really complemented the apples and it tasted fresh and light. I used pecans instead of walnuts (I think walnuts add a bitter note, while pecans are light and toasty) and cut down the sugar a tad. This pie was a hit. I will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
This is a fabulous recipe that is so easy even I can make it. Follow the recipe as it is and you will not be sorry. It will take a little longer to bake then 1 hour, but it is sooooo gooood, it is worth the wait. Using a soft tub margarine eliminates the problem that some have had on mixing the butter with the milk mixture. I had no problem at all. When mixing the struesel mix the brown sugar with the bisquick first, then just chop at the margarine with a spoon until it gets a bit crumbly is all it takes. Again the tub margarine helps with this as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bradstephen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
The apple-pudding custard style filling was so good! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by di4367

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 64) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Pie I

See how to make a simple, 5-star apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States