Impossible Coconut Pie II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2005
I read all reviews before I decided to make this. It was simple, quick (you just stick everything in a blender), and really good. I added 14 oz. of coconut as that's what my frozen bag was and I read how people were adding more and figured why not, and 3 jumbo eggs. I baked it an hour. My husband liked it warm and it's good warm/cold, but if you want the firmer texture you need to leave it in the fridge. The only reason I can think of for any negative review of this recipe is people making the wrong recipe. If you want to invest a mere several minutes prep time, you should make this - it's excellent for what it is! - but if you want minimal work yet are expecting the outcome of a gourmet coconut pie you'd find in a restaurant.. it's common sense. I noticed one reviewer said it "doesn't make its own crust." Again - if you are expecting to open the oven door and suddenly see a dough crust magically formed around the pie, you shouldn't be making this recipe. But if you're cool with a "crust" (a.k.a. firm, golden texture all around the pie that makes it totally non-stick and easy to lift out - I used a clear glass pie dish so I could see what the outside was doing, and when I ate it the edges were chewy) then this recipe is for you. The only thing I would add next time is a little salt, I think it will accent the flavor. Hope this is helpful to someone. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
169 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2008
I was craving coconut pie and had all the ingredients but did want to go through the time of making the crust. This hit the spot! I also made some suggested changes using more coconut and sprinkling some on top before baking, using 3 eggs instead of 4 and using coconut extract instead of vanilla. I also used butter instead of margarine. It was scrumptious warm while the top was crunchy and toasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I've been making a recipe similar to this one from an Amish cookbook for about 30 yrs. I was happy to find it here since it is our favorite coconut pie recipe and that page has fallen out of the cookbook. Much better than the ones with baking mix. We prefer it without the nutmeg and I always sneak in an extra half cup of coconut.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2004
I've been baking this pie for 35 years. It IS wonderful. I noticed serveral folks commented that it took longer than 45 minutes to bake. My recipe says to bake the pie for 60 minutes at 350, not 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2005
I added an extra half cup of coconut... not intentionally, my fault for measuring over the bowl. It came out so YUM! I had it warm, and I can't wait to try it cold! Oh, and I DID bake it for one hour. (The sides rose first, then the center, it needed the extra time)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
How easy and yummy is this! Just finished baking and tasting this pie. Mmm,mmm. Followed this recipe to a T and would not change a thing, turned out perfect. Will use from now on, thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2009
This pie is about the easiest thing you'll ever make. Great for potluck when you are out of time. Don't expect a crispy crust, its a soft "crust" that i personally like, just so you know what you are getting. Comes out of the pan easy- a plus
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
YUM-OH and super easy. I made the following changes: eggnog instead of milk, 3 eggs, 1 1/2 cups of coconut. and butter instead of margerine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dining Diva

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: East Granby, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2001
I hadn't made this pie for years, so I decided to try it again! Made it one day, it was all gone the next day! What a delicious flavored pie. I love coconut, so I added a little more than recipe calls for, delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loretta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellwood, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
I made this for a potluck at work. Everybody just love it and it's very easy to make. I made some modification though, I placed 2 whole egg and 2 yolk it made the texture much nicer and I used lemon flavoring instead of vanilla. And I also added bottled young coconut string that you can buy in oriental supermarket. It was done in 45 mins. I browned the top by putting it in broil after it was done while keeping an eye on it make sure it will not burn. My colleagues were asking me to teach them how to do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 97) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States