Impossible Coconut Pie I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2007
I chose this recipe because one reviewer had said it was very "custardy"...we LOVE custard!! We LOVED this recipe...I can't wait to make it again...and again. I screwed it up and added the coconut to the blender...oops...so I also added more coconut to the top...it was fantastic!! Wonderful custard like "pie" that tastes like a macaroon! I had to bake mine a little longer than the recipe calls for. About 10 extra minutes. Easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
I found this same recipe in an old cookbook I bought at a garage sale, titled, You've Got to Be Kidding! It also features other delectable delights such as Earthworm Cookies. This pie is absolutely delicious and amazing because it makes its own separate crust, filling and topping; all out of the blender! My recipe instructs to blend as you count slowly to 10, and it instructs to put the coconut in the blender with the other ingredients. As such, it provides a nice buttery topping for the pie. It also fools skeptics of the pie who think they don't like coconut. This is a definite keeper in our house. If you love custard, you'll love this pie. Incidentally, I do not try the Earthworm Cookie recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
Tastes great and so easy to make. I stirred the coconut in with the other ingredients and then sprinkled 1/4 more on top. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Wayne City, Illinois, USA
Living In: Salem, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2007
I LOVE impossible pies because I am a big custard lover & I'm sometimes lazy. ;o) I had a cuban theme going so I used rum extract instead of vanilla (wasn't very "rummy" tasting...I think next time I may use real dark rum) & I garnished w/ a small pile of edible flowers in the center of the pie. It looked incredible & I only spent about 5 minutes on it. ;o) I think my guests were more impressed w/ the ease of this recipe than anything. So if you really wanna show off...make it in front of them & let them see how it's just "thrown" in a blender. I wasn't able to get a pic because the batteries were dead in my camera but I'll be making this again. And again & again & again. ;o) Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IMVINTAGE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Keller, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
The whole family LOVED this recipe!! I substituted whole wheat flour for the baking mix and it came out great. A winner in this household. Will def. make again!! (and again and again!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit Mommy
Home Town: Tuckerton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
Great "as-is" in the recipe the 1st time I did it! 2nd time,since my family dislikes coconut, I ommited the coconut and made it with a touch of almond xtract in the filling. When I removed it from the oven I then topped it with Raspberry jam(slightly micro'd easier to spread)then let it set till cool. My family prefers it cool (even cold), warm or cool it's..... Awesome !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy Auger

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, New Hampshire, USA
Photo by SHORECOOK
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
GREAT PIE! This pie is so simple to do. I throw all the ingredients into a blender, including the cup of coconut, and pour into a buttered pie dish. Then I top it off with extra coconut. 40 minutes is the perfect baking time. It always disappears. Thank you Rosie De Coito for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHORECOOK
Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Cape May Court House, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: May 29, 2005
This tasted identical to a coconut flan I made last summer. Actually, I'll be honest - I liked it okay because I like custard and flan - but it didn't taste like a pie at all. My boyfriend hated it and couldn't finish one slice. This would be a great recipe if you just renamed it - Coconut Custard or Coconut Flan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcey55

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Longmont, Colorado, USA
Living In: Alamogordo, New Mexico, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2001
This is the only recipe for coconut custard pie that you will ever need. Unbelievable easy and DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
I have been making this pie for many years. The only thing I do to make it less custardy is to add 1/2 cup coconut to the blender, and then add an additional 1/4 to 1/2 cup sprinkled on the top. You can add different flavorings such as coconut extract, rum extract, almond extract. Very delicious. I do like it better the next day and when it is well chilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gobomel

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 66) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Old-Fashioned Coconut Cream Pie

It's creamy, it's coconutty, it's perfect. Enjoy.

Chef John's Peach Pie

See how to make the perfect summer pie with a gorgeous lattice top.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States