Impossible Buttermilk Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Karie
Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2009
This was a wonderful, custard pie. I didn't have buttermilk so I used regular milk that I let sit out for 30 minutes with a tablespoon of lemon. I didn't use the full amount of sugar. I probably used about 1 & 1/3 cup. I also used an extra tablespoon of baking mix to make certain it was nice and solid. I cooked it for 42 minutes and dusted with powered sugar and cinnamon. My husband wonders where I've been hiding this pie all our marriage. He was thrilled with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2001
I love this recipe, as does the family. I'll often shortcut this already shortcutted recipe though by substituting white cake mix for part of the sugar and all the baking mix (then reducing the sugar a smidge). Its great, it's easy, its FAST.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
Really simple and easy to make. Won third place at dessert contest at work with this pie. I added a little bit of cinnamon and nutmeg to the mix. Will definetly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2005
This was very easy and pretty good. Even though I preheated my oven, it took much longer than 30 minutes to make. At the 30 minute mark, it was almost soup, with a thin layer of the crust on top. It took me about 50 mins overal to make, and even now I'm not sure that it's done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Lafayette, Indiana, USA
Living In: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is very easy & very good! Quick to pop in oven when company drops in. Takes no time to put together. Good warm or chilled. It has a "custardy" consistency that will please all ages. Sweet! This is an old recipe thats been passed around & every generation likes it. I've been making this for years and will make again for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
I had my doubts when looking at this recipe. I decided to make it because I had all the ingredients, and the prep took no time at all. This pie turned out to be DELISH! The recipe is so plain, and simple that it leaves a lot of opportunity open to add your own twist to it. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thwapper

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
this was super easy... my very first buttermilk pie- and this was so goood. I did add a little nutmeg and cinnamon. It cooked up very nice and only took 30 minutes. A big hit. Will be making this alot more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2003
Way too simple to be this good. Great with fresh fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2004
I loved this pie! I whipped it up in no time and it was a great way to use up buttermilk. We had it topped with fresh raspberries, which was divine. Mine had to cook for 40 minutes to set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2006
This pie is absolutely the best impossible pie around and of course so easy to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Dannon Oikos Key Lime Pie

Easy key lime pie with Greek-style yogurt bakes up fast!

Grandma's Egg Custard Pie

This sweet and creamy custard pie was a blue ribbon winner.

Peanut Butter Cookie Pie

Allrecipes cook Kelly shares her Peanut Butter Cookie Pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States