Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2014
I used ground Frito's instead of bread crumbs and pinto beans instead of lentils. Instead of thyme I used parsley. I used shredded coconut instead of rice, and pureed Brussels sprouts instead of tomatoes. Instead of cheese, I topped it with sawdust. But other than that, I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kevin Andrews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Folsom, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
BEST "VEGGIE Loaf" I've ever had!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
Got really great responses from hubby and kids. However I did change some things: added one stalk chopped celery, more crushed tomato and ketchup, added sea salt, italian seasoning, garlic powder, an extra egg white and omitted soy sauce. Would be a nice recipe for if you have leftover lentils and rice, but it was a LOT of work and steps for what it turned out to be. I would love to add additional red or green peppers. I used flax seed instead and rice crumbs instead bread crumbs as we are gluten free. Served with mashed red potatoes and green beans. Overall, a lot of work that could be cut down when you have leftovers, but a good base recipe for vegetarian or vegans if you omit cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2012
The flavour was good but it was a bit mushier than I like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CaperWest

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cape Breton, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
Hubby would not eat it and I didn't care for it either. Too much Thyme for one thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2012
I thought this was very good. I used brown sugar and ketchup to put on top. Just used dried onions and left out the wheat germ. It looked really good. I will make mine thinner next time so the ketchup topping goes with more of the meatloaf. Made great sandwiches all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deborah H. Watt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2011
This was great. I chopped up portobellas and added to the recipe. Cut it in slices and freeze it for a delicious lunch to bring to work with some cooked greens! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dkane
Living In: Levittown, New York, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2011
This was pretty good. I think next time, I will use less thyme. It came out tasting a little like Thanksgiving stuffing. I made a few modifications this time: I didn't have wheat germ so I used nutritional yeast instead and I substituted ground red pepper for hot sauce since I was out of sauce. Overall, this was good. Very filling. Made great leftovers. I will definitely make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Fabulous! I added ketchup to the top instead of cheese, and it was a hit. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chemainus, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2011
This was pretty good and I think with some tweaking it would be really good. Make sure you cook the lentils long enough to get them really soft. I should have added the extra water that another person suggested because mine were still a little too firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States