Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2002
This was AWFUL - my husband and I have been married almost 5 years, and this is the first meal he has ever not liked. He is not a picky eater at all and likes all the new things I cook, but after my son and I tasted it, and after just looking at it, he didn't take one bite. It was horrible, plus it was a pain to make. Not worth the trouble, even if it wasn't any trouble. The worst meal I have ever tasted (except for my side dishes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2002
Fantastic meal! My husband loves it better than the real thing. It did need sauce though so I used one from my old meatloaf days and it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2002
Took longer than 2 hours to make and wasn't worth the trouble.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2002
I veganized this recipe (ground flax seeds and extra tomatoes instead of eggs, and brewers yeast instead of cheese). It was quite good, and I think that I could get away with feeding it to my non-vegan family without them realizing that it is not meatloaf. It was great with a side of baked tomatoes as "gravy". I will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2002
This recipe took forever to make! I personally didn't like the loaf so much (as a vegetarian who has never liked "meat" loaf), but my vegetarian husband thought it was great, especially when I cooked it with ketchup all over the top like the meatloaf from his childhood. The recipe makes many more servings than it says because a tiny piece is very filling. My husband got tired of it after several consecutive days of meatloaf sandwich lunches. We had to throw away a third of the loaf as a result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2002
WOW!!! If I hadn't made it myself I would have had to ask the cook if they were sure there wasn't any meat in it. This recipe is much better than "real" meatloaf. I added 1/2 c. of Italian stewed tomatoes and juice from a can instead of 1/3 c. and I put ketchup on the top for the last 1/2 hour of baking time. Other than that, I wouldn't (and won't) change a thing. It's also very good as cold leftover sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2002
Great recipe! I'm the worst, pickiest vegetarian in the world, so to get me to eat anything containing beans is a challange! My whole family loved it! Next time I'll add some sort of sauce; it's a little dry. But a great meal and very healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2002
What a fabulous recipe!?! I served this to meat eating guests and they all liked it. I crumbled fresh white bread (the heavy Pepperidge Farms white) in place of the dry crumbs listed and it was very moist and delicious - definitely a "keeper"!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
This "meatloaf" turned out fantastic. I'm not a vegetarian but my boyfriend is and we both loved it. I served it with a miso gravy and that helped the dryness a lot. It's also great as a leftover sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2001
I was skeptical, but this was actually pretty good. You had to cook the lentils & the rice separately, so it took a while. The second time, I substituted the lentils for canned pinto beans; took less time & was just as good. It was better warmed up the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

See how to make a top-rated meatloaf that’s quick and easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States