Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2006
sooo good! this tastes and has the consistency of real meatloaf and it's good for you! thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2006
This was REALLY good, moist and tasty. I used fresh breadcrumbs instead of dried (4 slices wholemeal bread), green lentils instead of brown, left out the wheatgerm, added 2 cloves of crushed garlic, 1 shredded carrot and 2 sticks chopped celery. Also I topped it with BBQ sauce before cooking, and cooked for 1 1/2 hours. My husband loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MBUTTLER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
This is now one of my favorite fake meat recipes. I did alter slightly. I replaced wheat germ with flax seed meal, used fresh bread crumbs, used a couple sprinkles of dried minced onion instead of fresh, used cheddar cheese and covered top with barbecue sauce. Also, replaced crushed tomatoes with 1/3 cup marinara sauce. Good texture and flavor. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morris, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2006
I thought this was OK. The taste was fine texture was a little mushy and it would have been very bland with out a ketchup glaze on top. Overall I probably wouldn't make it again I just don't seem to be a fan of substitute meat dishes. Thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I love this recipe! It's become a staple at our house. The most recent time I made it I added Worcestershire sauce to the mix before baking, and drizzled hot sauce, Worcestershire sauce, and soy sauce on top once it was almost finished cooking. Added a lot of zing. When preparing the lentis I also add a bit of black pepper to the water, which seems to spice up the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Poland, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I've made this twice now and both times it came out wonderful, the second time I made some subs, because we were almost out of bread crumbs, I was short 1/2c and used oats instead. My husband even liked it, he really likes his meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2006
I don't know why other reviewers thought this was dry unless they baked it longer than one hour. As I assembled it, I expected it to be dry and made some gravy in anticipation, but it was really great, texture wise. I will definitely make this again, but will tweak it a bit to make it more like Mom's. I plan to add onion, celery, and bell pepper, and top it with ketchup, maybe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
The only reason I would not give this recipe a 5 is that mine came out really mushy, but tasted really good. Instead of crushed tomatoes I used a can of stewed tomatoes, and added the cup of grated carrots like someone else suggested. I also used chedder cheese because that was all I had. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
I would agree with previous reviewers that it would need extra tomatoes and would be better dressed with a tomato glaze, otherwise dry. Good taste however. Will try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2006
Double - the tomatoes Halve - Bread brumbs Get rid of - wheat germ Add - 1 cup grated zucchini/carot/mushroom
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States