Imitation Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
I have made this recipe multiple times now, and my husband and I just LOVE it!! We double it and use a stoneware casserole dish that is big enough to handle it. I have never bothered with any changes because it is so good as written! I have topped it with salsa sometimes or a variety of other sauces. It freezes just fine also. Delicious, nutritious, and inexpensive to make. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Shambach

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Battle Creek, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I'm NOT a picky eater, so I was surprised at my thoughts on this recipe. It's hard to rate food, since taste buds vary so greatly person to person. I followed a lot of the suggestions (with add-ins), but it was still so, so bland. Also, it was more like a casserole consistency. I can't imagine, even w/ adding more bread crumbs, that it would ever be sliceable, like meatloaf. My kids, however, actually ate it, so the least that can be said is that it wasn't offensive. If your family likes casseroles, with a lot of "doctoring" spice-wise, this would be a good recipe to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catastrophiccook

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Wow! This was outstanding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Super easy and very delish. The kids liked the flavour too and it's not mushy nor dry. I didn't have wheat germ so just left it out and it was OK. I also put some of the crushed tomatoe with a bit of worcestshire sauce and sugar over the top for the last 10 minutes of baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Great taste! This was easy to prepare. I might add some Italian seasoning next time, but overall, the flavor was incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
This makes a good base recipe, needs a little more flavor added...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Powell, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was good. The texture and and flavor is very close to that of real meatloaf. It was pretty dry as leftovers though. Even so, I'll probably make it again because it's a good healthy and cheap meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
Really scrumptious. As suggested by some other reviewers, added red pepper and fresh garlic and substituted dried country mix for lentils. It was beautifully moist and my two teenage boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I tried several of the tips to spice it up, but it was still a little bland. Added teaspoon of chili powder, 2 tbsp worchester sauce, BBQ sauce instead of ketchup, cooked lentils in water with black pepper added, tsp garlic powder. Next time, I will add a Thai chili pepper. That always adds zing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
Great!! I boiled the brown rice in mushroom stock. Didn't change anything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Danville, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Turkey and Quinoa Meatloaf

Discover the secret to turkey meatloaf with the perfect texture.

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

How to Make Classic Meatloaf

Discover the secrets to moist, flavorful baked meatloaf.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States