Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We needed to finish about 3/4 of a pound of krab before it went bad, so I gave this a try. I used the given amount of celery, about 1/4 cup of finely diced yellow onion, and I substituted about 3/4 of a cup of frozen peas, thawed, for the pepper. I cut the dressing amounts in half. It made it perfect, not at all soupy. My husband likened this salad to a coleslaw without the cabbage (he hates coleslaw, but loved this!). Even I thought it was good, and I don't like seafood! Thanks for the recipe, Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2001
This was soooo easy to make! I loved it plain and my husband would make a sandwich for lunch with it. It's the first "fancy" thing I've made that he couldn't get enough of!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2003
The recipe was quick and easy to make. The flavour was wonderful. My husband who is very picky and does not like any type of seafood enjoyed this salad very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2003
I served the crab salad on toasted hoagie rolls- absolutely delicious! I ran out of sour cream, so I obmitted it but it still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Absolutely great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first crab salad I remember having was from The Sizzler--probably 15 years ago. I thought it was great. Not fine dining, but it was worth going to the Sizzler to get that crab salad. Since then, I've had crab salad in restaurants many times, especially buffets. Having learned to cook--at least half-way competently and therefore unafraid to try new recipes--I've been carrying the crab salad idea around in my brain for a few weeks. To scratch the itch, I finally gave it a try. WOW! This is great stuff. It has more of a tangy zing than any other crab salad I've tried, including at The Sizzler. I would NOT omit the Italian dressing; That's what gives it the "zing," though you may wish to reduce the amount. I used what I had, 1/3 cup Italian dressing and the rest Italian Pesto dressing. To get it ready for the steak and potatoes meal we had last night, I popped it in the freezer for 30 minutes. That provided the salad with a chill that was just about right. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1 1/2 pounds of crab meat. Too, I wasn't real stingy with the green pepper, red onion, or celery, adding slightly more than that called for in the recipe. Using more of these ingredients than called for prevented any "soupiness." The consistency was absolutely perfect. This will go into my regular rotation of recipes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
yes yes yes! I mixed this with bow tie pasta and wow wow wow! It is the most requested recipe hounded by relatives. oh boy oh boy oh boy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I had some crabmeat to use up, so I thought I'd try this. YUMMY! I took other reviewer's advice and cut down on the mayo (actually ran out of mayo and had to add a little Miracle Whip) and used 1/2 packet of dry Italian Dressing Mix. I initially served it with crackers for an appetizer and used the leftovers for crab salad sandwiches the next day. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Love!Love!Love! This recipe was, is, and will be a huge hit with friends and family. I've made this salad twice now for pot lucks and i have gone home empty handed. The only thing i added was 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese to the dressing. This one is going in the handwritten recipe book. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i made this once using 2 packs of crab delights flake style and it was way too much dressing.so much that all i tasted was the dressing.i made it today with 4 packages of crab delights, following the directions, only a smidge more veggies cuz i knew i was going to be using double the amount of crab.it turned out perfect.soooo good! my daughter is a subway seafood salad sub fiend and this is waaaay better.the best krab with a k salad i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States