Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Good, but too much sauce and a bit too tangy. I'm used to the sweeter crabmeat salads. I added a 1/4 tsp. of splenda to take away some of that tang. Next time, I'll just cut back on the Italian dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SYRIELLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2006
Good recipe. I took the others advice of reducing the mayo (I used 3 Tbsp for a half recipe)and sprinkled part of a package of italian dressing mix. It was still wasn't thick, but it tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2005
We needed to finish about 3/4 of a pound of krab before it went bad, so I gave this a try. I used the given amount of celery, about 1/4 cup of finely diced yellow onion, and I substituted about 3/4 of a cup of frozen peas, thawed, for the pepper. I cut the dressing amounts in half. It made it perfect, not at all soupy. My husband likened this salad to a coleslaw without the cabbage (he hates coleslaw, but loved this!). Even I thought it was good, and I don't like seafood! Thanks for the recipe, Diana!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Duckball

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
The first crab salad I remember having was from The Sizzler--probably 15 years ago. I thought it was great. Not fine dining, but it was worth going to the Sizzler to get that crab salad. Since then, I've had crab salad in restaurants many times, especially buffets. Having learned to cook--at least half-way competently and therefore unafraid to try new recipes--I've been carrying the crab salad idea around in my brain for a few weeks. To scratch the itch, I finally gave it a try. WOW! This is great stuff. It has more of a tangy zing than any other crab salad I've tried, including at The Sizzler. I would NOT omit the Italian dressing; That's what gives it the "zing," though you may wish to reduce the amount. I used what I had, 1/3 cup Italian dressing and the rest Italian Pesto dressing. To get it ready for the steak and potatoes meal we had last night, I popped it in the freezer for 30 minutes. That provided the salad with a chill that was just about right. As another reviewer suggested, I used 1 1/2 pounds of crab meat. Too, I wasn't real stingy with the green pepper, red onion, or celery, adding slightly more than that called for in the recipe. Using more of these ingredients than called for prevented any "soupiness." The consistency was absolutely perfect. This will go into my regular rotation of recipes. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CURTISLEE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Valley, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
after reading other reviews I decided to cut down on the ingredents. I used 3/4 cup mayo and ommited italian dressing and substitutted the envelope style dressing. I added about half, but add acording to your taste a little at a time. This solve the "soupy issue". Flavor with out the liquid! I also added a bit of Cayenne pepper for some kick. I mixed in 1 1/2 lbs crab meat instead, and there was still plenty of dressing. Seemed to be more sandwich material than just eating in straight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MICHELLEKALGREN

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2005
Absolutely great !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I'm not sure what happened here...perhaps the salad dressing was too strong...but, we didn't like this at all even after adding some cooked pasta to it to make it more of a pasta salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I thought this was really good. It does make too much dressing and I cut the dressing amount in half! I substituted one green onion for the red onion and one red pepper for the green since that is what I had. Made the salad very pretty and tasty. Also added some shell pasta to absorb some of the sauce and make it more of a seafood pasta. Next time will add some salad shrimp also. Was very tasty- just add the dressing slowly to taste so you don't end up with too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2004
Good recipe. I used yogurt instead of sour cream because thats what I had, and used green onions for the same reason. Over all it turned out quite "onion-y" and smelled up the entire fridge until it was finished, but it was tasty, and even satisfied a picky husband for several days of sandwices!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BUNNYGRRL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple Hills, Maryland, USA
Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2003
This recipe was OK for me, although I think others might find it very good. I thought it was too tangy for my taste. It makes A LOT of dressing, so I ended up using 2 lbs. of imitation crabmeat to make use of all the dressing, and even then the salad was still a little soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Beach, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Yuba Noodle Salad

A yuba "noodle" and cabbage salad with a flavorful peanut dressing.

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States