Imitation Crabmeat Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2009
I did an extreme makeover to this recipe. It had nothing to do with this recipe, but the ingredients I had on hand and wanted to use. I am happy to say it received many rave reviews so I thought I would share it with you. First I used a 20 ounce package of three cheese tortellini, one 7 ounce container of Pico De Gallo, no red onion, no green pepper, no diced celery. I used diced cucumber, the imitation crab, I used the sour cream and mayo, cut the Italian-style salad dressing down to 1/3 cup, used only 1 T. lemon juice and did not use the oregano. I did use seasoning salt and pepper. I was suprised at how good the dressing mixture blended with the tortellini and crab. Will definitely make again. I am sure this recipe would be awesome as originally written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
I used less Italian dressing than asked for because of comments in the reviews. Turned out really well. Was even better after sitting for a day in the fridge. I'll definitely make this again. Four stars because I changed the recipe a bit. I save five stars for results after doing the recipe exactly as is. Thanks for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annie B

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kasia777
Reviewed: May 16, 2009
Very good! I only used 1/3 cup salad dressing and only 1 tbsp lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kasia777
Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
i made this once using 2 packs of crab delights flake style and it was way too much dressing.so much that all i tasted was the dressing.i made it today with 4 packages of crab delights, following the directions, only a smidge more veggies cuz i knew i was going to be using double the amount of crab.it turned out perfect.soooo good! my daughter is a subway seafood salad sub fiend and this is waaaay better.the best krab with a k salad i've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2008
This was not bad but, I am still looking for something like the salad I get at the deli of the grocery store. The Ilalian dressing added an interesting flavor, it took some getting used to...I will try some of the other recipes before making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lompoc, California, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Love!Love!Love! This recipe was, is, and will be a huge hit with friends and family. I've made this salad twice now for pot lucks and i have gone home empty handed. The only thing i added was 1/2 cup shredded parmesan cheese to the dressing. This one is going in the handwritten recipe book. Thank You
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
Please use caution with imitation crab meat if you are gluten free. Most imitation crab meat has wheat in it. I used real crab meat and it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2008
I had some crabmeat to use up, so I thought I'd try this. YUMMY! I took other reviewer's advice and cut down on the mayo (actually ran out of mayo and had to add a little Miracle Whip) and used 1/2 packet of dry Italian Dressing Mix. I initially served it with crackers for an appetizer and used the leftovers for crab salad sandwiches the next day. Very versatile!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2008
I thought this recipe was good... I took the advice of some other ratings and cut down on the dressing and sour cream. I seasoned it with onion powder and garlic powder. I think I would do witout the lemon juice next time, since the thought of lemon juice and sour cream together grossed me out a little!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Davis Junction, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is very similar to something i was already making, essentially my tuna salad recipe with imitation crabmeat substituted. Based on some earlier reviews, I used Italian dressing seasoning (dry) instead of liquid to keep it from getting too soupy and I'm glad I did. I also like the addition of sour cream, it adds a nice little zip. I add a little garlic powder, too. All in all, a good recipe, especially if you've never used imitation crabmeat before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chairman James

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Breckenridge Hills, Missouri, USA
Living In: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mediterranean Tuna Salad

Classic flavors of the Mediterranean combine in this tantalizing tuna salad.

Shanghai Noodle Salad

See how to make a delicious cold noodle salad.

Peach and Escarole Salad

See how to make a delicious salad with sweet peaches and fresh greens.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States