Ida's Lemon Mousse Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
Easy, light, elegant and delicious! I served it in pretty glassware with blueberries and raspberries on top. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2013
I made this recipe and followed the directions some of you do not seem to think this is important! It says "beat the mixture for 10 min." You have to in order to get the mousse consistancy! If you just stir the cream whip in with a whisk you do not get the correct results. If your jello takes so long to set up you did not measure the water correctly or your refrigerator needs temp. guage checked. Anyway we all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
This recipe really didn't work out at all. First, the jello part took overnight to set enough for me to add the whipped cream, the finished result was soft and didn't hold its shape at all like a proper mousse would, and the taste was tangy to the point of being bitter. I was looking for a light citrus dessert with a bright flavor, and was sorely disappointed. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
I am so glad that I didn't let the reviews that stated that this was too, sweet, tart, lemony deter me. And I'm so glad that I made it a day early. The day I made it, it WAS to sweet, tart, lemony!! But by the next day all the flavors had magically smoothed out and it was delicious. I served it in pretty martini glasses with a dollop of Cool Whip for Christmas dinner dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
This recipe is tart. Very, very, very tart. I had to mix it half and half with sweetened strawberries before I would eat it. It also made a ton. We had about nine 3/4 cup servings. It was okay, but would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
This is a great recipe but I found that I could make it with practically NO calories and it is just as yummy. I used 2 pkgs of sugar free jello instead of the regular, added the hot and cold water and 1-1/2 cups of lemon juice ( I have done fresh squeezed and I have used bottled and I taste no difference). My family prefers it with no added sugar. I chose light whipped topping one time and the fat free another , both were good. I put it in a clear glass bowl and layer with blueberries. I have served it a number of times to rave reviews, even the men like it! Great dessert for those guests who are constantly on a diet! Keeps in the refrigerator for a long time. You can 1/2 the recipe and it works quite well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by faithirene
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2012
I served this in martini glasses with sliced strawberries on top. Originally the strawberry was just for color, but the taste of the two together was amazing!! It was like strawberry lemonade. This was a great simple recipe and there are so many ways you could tweak it to make it your own! Thanks for a great idea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Fabulous desert, you can change the flavour to orange or lime just by changing the gelatin and frozen juices. I also used the sugar free gelatin and light coolwhip to lessen the calories. I poured each serving into a single portion and service with more whipped topping and a few fresh berries. A lovely refreshing desert after a heavy meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by lutzflcat
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
We really enjoyed this, and the fact that it can be frozen is a definite plus. The texture is very much like a mousse, it's light, and the lemon flavor is bold with just enough sweet-tart flavor. I used sugar free jell-o and fat-free whipped topping with no sacrifice to taste. It took close to 1-1/2 hours for the lemonade mixture to thicken to the point where I could beat in the whipped topping, and several hours longer in the fridge to jell, so plan accordingly. For those of you on Weight Watchers, I calculated the points based on 12 servings, and the point value is 2. Very nice end to a spring meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lutzflcat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Lutz, Florida, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2010
I love this recipe! I made only one substitution, I used a can of Mountain Dew instead of the lemonade. I turned out very well, and I got many questions for the recipe at a recent baby shower.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKOSTER1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Lemon Square Bars

These traditional lemon bars have a lovely buttery crust and sweet-tart filling

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States