Idaho-Style Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Kraig
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2014
Very good finger steaks. I did not have any buttermilk, so I used a buttermilk substitution of 4 1/2 teaspoons lemon juice with 1 cup of milk. Served with Sweet Baby Rays Sweet n' Spicy barbecue sauce. Will certainly make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kraig

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: American Falls, Idaho, USA
Living In: Chubbuck, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Excellent coating, and freezing does help it stay on before frying. I didn't use all the steak fingers pryor to frying, so I stuck them into a freezer bag to pull out for a quick meal later on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2013
This recipe was a surprise to me. I was very skeptical about putting the steak fingers in the freezer than frying them but, they came out good. My kids went crazy for these and I have a very pickey eater but, he said they were the really, really, good. I would highly recomend this steak finger recipe I will definently keep this a family favorite. Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
These are very good. Made the exactly as directed. I made too many so I left half of them in the freezer for about two weeks before I fried them and they turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2013
All I have to say is OMG! These were so good! I will never crave fingersteaks from my favorite restaurant, and I LIVE IN IDAHO, again! I did have to improvise but did basically as called for and they were amazing. My 18 month old son tried one and kept coming back asking for more! Thank you for taking the time to perfect and share this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2012
This is a wonderful recipe. I follow it exactly especially the freezing time. Makes the batter stay on and not get too dark while the meat cooks. When I make them I double the batch and keep the extras in the freezer. Then throw in a couple of potatoes to bake and fry these up....so yummy and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I've tried the recipe as-is a few times and it is REALLY good, but time consuming. I had a hectic family day and knew dinner was going to have to be fast and on the fly, so I took a chance on speeding it up. I doubled the recipe and "made" buttermilk by adding 1 Tb of white vinegar for each cup of milk and let it sit for 10 min before adding it to the recipe. (You can also use lemon juice.) I put every single ingredient except the meat in a large bowl and beat the tar out of it until it was a thick batter and free of lumps - like pancake batter. It required a little more flour to accomplish this, so I added more spices to compensate. I cut up the meat, tossed it in the batter, mixed it to coat, then covered it and threw it in the fridge for the afternoon. When I got home, I heated up the Fry Daddy and mixed the meat/batter again. WARNING - using the frying basket did not work for me at all!! The batter oozed into the drain holes and the meat stuck to the bottom of the basket. I could not get it off until the basket cooled and I could safely take a fork to it and break the meat/batter apart. However, removing the fry basket and putting the battered meat directly into the Fry Daddy worked like a charm! It took a little longer than 5 minutes per batch to get that beautiful brown coating, but it was so worth it! The kids were waiting in line by the fryer because they were eating them faster than I could cook them!! Thank you so much for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kjsboutique

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middleton, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
These were a big hit with my family. Some ate them with ranch, some with barbecue sauce. Either way, they were great. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I'd never heard of these type of steaks (but my family is from Oregon so I knew what fry sauce was!). We love these! The freezing is VERY important as is making sure your oil is hot enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannamarie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Columbus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
These are a huge hit with my family. My wife who is a finger steak nut will not hardly touch any others now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States