Idaho Fry Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2015
Pretty close to original!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Moffit Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2015
Giving it a 4 since it is much better than ketchup and mayo but I needed more spice myself. Made as directed but cut the sugar in half (enough in the ketchup). After using it a bit I then added more onion powder, paprika, salt and dry mustard but really looking for more of a kick. I did enjoy it though but next time, I think I'll try doubling the seasonings or add some hot sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very good. Almost everyone in the family liked this recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Molly
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
What a delicious recipe! My husband and I had never heard of fry sauce until Allrecipes. We discovered we both like it. I halved the recipe to use on 'Tail Burner Firehouse French Fries' from AR. This might have been my first time trying the recipe, but it won't be the last. Thanks Heather, for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Molly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Huntertown, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
Very easy to make and much better than just ketchup. It has zing. I added pickle relish to bring in some texture and flavor notes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
This is a quick dipping sauce to make and tastes good. I made it exactly as the recipe stated. Next time though, I will omit the sugar as the first batch was way too sweet. Ketchup has a lot of sugar already in it, so I don't see any reason to add more. Other than that, thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I love this sauce! I do cut back or leave out altogether the sugar as I like a more vinegar tartness to my sauce but I have yet to have home baked "fries" without having this sauce too. I think it's just great. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ExMilitaryWife

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montclair, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I'm not sure where you got this recipe, but fry sauce is a simple job. It was popularized initially at the arctic circle restaurant chain in southern Idaho. 1cup ketchup, 1/2 cup mayonnaise, 1 tablespoon apple vinegar and 1/4 teaspoon of salt. Blend. That's it. You can certainly add all the other stuff, amd it's probably tasty. But it ain't fry sauce. I know because it was my job to make it. Long, long ago in southeast Idaho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
My husband and my father-in-law are native Idahoans and were always on the hunt for the perfect fry sauce. I took a chance today and made this one for our oven fries - and I'm so glad I did! Great sauce. Sweet, tangy, and without the overly-mustard-y flavor that some fry sauces have when trying to depart from the Thousand Island-type fry sauce. This sauce is a winner and we'll be making it a lot from here on out. Thanks for sharing, Heather!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Kantola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Yummmm. Really good. Creamy and rich with flavor. The submitter is right, after this I tried fries with ketchup and I much preferred this sauce to the plain now boring ketchup. From Idaho and now to Texas, I liked this too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carolina-Style BBQ Sauce

See how to make tangy Carolina-style barbeque sauce.

Easy Balsamic Black Butter Sauce

Watch Chef John prepare a simple but impressive balsamic and butter sauce.

Homemade Horseradish Sauce

See how easy and delicious it is to make horseradish sauce from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States