Idaho Finger Steaks Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2008
My husband grew up in Boise and every time we visit we had to go to the Torch Cafe for finger steaks. He says these are the ones! Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
I lived in Boise in the early '70s and ate at the torch many times. There was a drive-through restaurant that also had decent finger steaks. But I can not remember the name. Thanks for this recipe. I will be making it soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Thank You, Thank You, Thank You! The Torch Cafe was one of my favorite places when I lived in Boise in the 70's. This recipe brings back memories. If you are in Boise, by the way, a good place for finger steaks at a restaurant is the truck stop that is on I-84, about 15 miles east of Boise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
I made this last night with the Blooming Onion and Daddy's fried corn and onions, and everyone liked it. I even used some of the onion dip to dip these fingers in. Very good, thanks for the recipe! BTW, I didn't change a thing, only lessened the ingredients becuase I only had a 2-3 lb. top round steak.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2008
I've been looking for Milo's Finger Steak recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
Easy to make and tastes exactly how I remember them! They were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
These are the best.......I use 1/2 cornmeal and 1/2 flour and they turn out perfect....I have also used pork instead of beef....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2010
my boyfriend loves them. i will be skipping the salt (as suggested) next time though :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2010
i use cube steaks, and i also add 1 tbs of garlic powder. that really kicks them up a few notches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Forsyth, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oh my ridiculously good! We didn't season our meat or anything before and these were some of the best that we've EVER had. My husband grew up in Idaho and his family has made finger steaks all growing up and he couldn't stop eating these. One trick: tenderize the steak before battering them-- it makes them soak up the seasonings a little better from the batter and it makes them, well, tender. Also, you could probably cut back to about 1/2 of the salt or seasoning salt-- one or the other. I also followed some other's advice and made the sauce for the blooming onion... WOW! We'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sous Vide New York Strip Steaks

See a great technique for cooking tremendously juicy steaks on your stovetop.

Minute Steaks with BBQ Butter Sauce

See how to make minute steaks dressed in a simple BBQ sauce.

Chef John’s Grilled Lamb Steaks

Grilled marinated lamb dressed with a minted honey and sherry vinaigrette.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States