Icelandic Christmas Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2006
This was fantastic! I don't usually review sweets, but this was so good I couldn't help myself. Made out of stuff I already have on hand and so tasty. A real nice cake. Thank you so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Empire, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2006
This cake is delicious, tastes just like Christmas cake should! However, we cannot find an 11 inch pan, used a standard 9 inch and cooked it a little longer. Still had a gooey center but we ate it anyway!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2007
Wonderful cake! I was just in Iceland and had a cake very similar. Thanks for sharing! One tip: don't worry about trying to track down cardamom extract - just use 1/2 tsp cardamom powder instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
51 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TGR
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Very nice. I ground some cardamom just before adding it. And instead of using dried fruits I just added a handful of roasted almond pieces. The batter tasted very lemony, but I couldn't taste much of the lemon after baking. I think next time I will just leave out the lemon and substitute vanilla instead. Took about 1 hour and 20 minutes to bake to a moist consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Berlin, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good, I used 1 tsp of ground cardamom since I couldn't find the extract and next time I will add 1 tsp of the lemon extract. Very easy to make and tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATWALK16

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2001
it's great! I love it! But I added apricot and walnuts and doubled the amount of raisins, I wanted it to be rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2000
Lemon and cardamom flavors work well together in this cake. A nice change from the typical loaf cake/bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Very good. My family is Icelandic and my Amma used to make something very similar, a nice change from vinetarta...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2004
I wanted muffins, so I added a 1/2 t. more baking powder and added milk until the consistency was a little less thick than the original recipe made. I also used currants soaked in tea instead of raisins. They came out perfect. The flavor is unique and delicate. It was just what I was looking for, something light, refreshing and different than your usual muffin fare. I would use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2000
I love Scandinavian cooking, so I couldn't wait to try this loaf cake. I could not find cardamom flavoring and so used 1 tsp. cardamom spice instead. I have made this three times. Once according to the original recipe, once with an extra egg yolk, and once with candied orange peel instead of raisins. All turned out really well. The cake keeps well and can be toasted or used to make "Poor Nights of England," a Brit version of French toast served as dessert. I use golden raisins instead of regular ones.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Gingerbread Cake with Lemon Glaze

See how to make an incredibly easy, entirely essential holiday classic.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

How to Make Angel Food Cake

Watch how to make this decadent-tasting but actually fat-free cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States